Rules question

softshot

Simplify
Silver Member
Playing 8-ball you are allowed to call a ball and call safe on the same shot sinking your ball and giving up the table..

what if the table is open?

Opp breaks dry.. I call 7 in the side... safe...

I execute a legal shot sink the 7 and put the CB right where I wanted it..

MY ruling... I have claimed solids and it's his shot..

HIS ruling.. because I called safe the table is still open

what say you?
 
Its still open. You did not pocket a called ball, you cancelled the "called ball" when you said safe :) Yes you hit the seven in order to make contact with a ball to complete a legal hit, but you did not call a shot, if you had you would still be at the table.

Woody
 
You have called a safe, not a shot, so the table is still open. Calling a safe while making a shot is the same as calling the wrong pocket on purpose.
 
Its still open. You did not pocket a called ball, you cancelled the "called ball" when you said safe :) Yes you hit the seven in order to make contact with a ball to complete a legal hit, but you did not call a shot, if you had you would still be at the table.

Woody

I believe your'e correct Woody unless he's playin APA. In that case the ball counts and it's still his shot.
 
I still think I'm right..this is the closest rule I can find

13. SAFETY SHOT. For tactical reasons a player may choose to pocket an obvious object ball and also discontinue his turn at the table by declaring safety in advance. A safety shot is defined as a legal shot. If the shooting player intends to play safe by pocketing an obvious object ball, then prior to the shot, he must declare a safety to his opponent. If this is NOT done, and one of the shooter's object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again. Any ball pocketed on a safety shot remains pocketed.

I found it here...

http://www.billiards.com/article/official-bca-8-ball-rules-p2
 
Table is still open if you are playing where the rules allow a player to sink a ball as a safe shot. It is the same as if the table were open and you called the 6 in the corner and then scratched on that shot. Table is still open.
 
When there is an open table, you cannot claim a group (solids or stripes) until you have pocketed a ball legally.

Rule 11 (using your own website reference) states this.

You also cannot make two calls at the same time. Either you call a ball and pocket or you call Safe.. NOT Both.
 
well I guess it's unanimous ... that sucks..

I camped out on that move for almost 2 months before I got a chance to use it....

I guess next time I'll ask first LOL
 
In the BCA leagues I used to play in, you couldn't call a ball and pocket AND call safe.

It was always one or the other.
 
Back
Top