SBE 10 Ball Call-Shot Rules: Clarified & Strategies Involved

I read the WPA rules yesterday and the way I understood them the option to give it back to the other player occurs only when a called ball is pocketed illegally or another ball goes in. A simple miss or foul with no balls going down results in the incoming player taking the table as is with no option to turn it back to the other player (I'm referring to section 9.8 "Continuing play"). This would still present opportunities to play a 2-way shot (shot/safety) so long as no ball is pocketed.

I thought at the SBE this was not the case. The incoming player could give it back on a simple miss or foul.

Your right they played you could pass it back on a simple miss no foul. Not the wpa rules more like the bca 10 ball rules.
 
Read the rule correctly

I read the WPA rules yesterday and the way I understood them the option to give it back to the other player occurs only when a called ball is pocketed illegally or another ball goes in. A simple miss or foul with no balls going down results in the incoming player taking the table as is with no option to turn it back to the other player (I'm referring to section 9.8 "Continuing play"). This would still present opportunities to play a 2-way shot (shot/safety) so long as no ball is pocketed.

I thought at the SBE this was not the case. The incoming player could give it back on a simple miss or foul.

9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.
 
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.

Right. So what are you saying? You quoted me but I'm not sure how you want me to respond.
 
if no foul was committed

Right. So what are you saying? You quoted me but I'm not sure how you want me to respond.

According to the rules a ball pocketed in the wrong hole or not pocketed in the called pocket is a foul which results in the opponent having the choice to shoot or pass.
 
Last edited:
According to the rules a ball pocketed in the wrong hole is a foul which results in the opponent having the choice to shoot or pass.

Agreed. But you quoted my post so I'm thinking you disagree with what I said. Or are you agreeing with me? If I said something in error please tell me what it was.

Thanks.
 
According to the rules a ball pocketed in the wrong hole or not pocketed in the called pocket is a foul which results in the opponent having the choice to shoot or pass.

I guess you edited your post because this one is a little different than the one I quoted just before. But the above quote of yours is not quite correct the way I read the rules. A ball not pocketed in the called pocket does not necessarily result in the option for the incoming player according to 9.7 that you posted for reference, unless it goes down in a wrong hole, or another ball is pocketed. If no balls are pocketed then I think 9.8 is the driving section which states the incoming player takes the balls in position - no option to turn it back.

9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.

9.8 Continuing Play
If the shooter legally pockets a called/nominated ball on a shot (except a push out, see 9.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out), any additional balls pocketed remain pocketed (except the ten ball; see 9.9 Spotting Balls), and he continues at the table for the next shot. If he legally pockets the called ten ball on any shot (except a push out), he wins the rack. If the shooter fails to pocket the called ball or fouls, play passes to the other player, and if no foul was committed, the incoming player must play the cue ball from the position left by the other player.
 
Last edited:
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.

This says AND not OR. So you must miss AND ( read as "along with") make called ball in the wrong pocket or miss AND mistakenly pocket another ball before opponent has choice to give shot back to player.


A miss by itself is just a miss, with no penalty other than giving up your turn at the table.
 
Last edited:
I don't think that the WPA rules were (at least fully) in use at the SBE.

In the SBE if you call a ball into a pocket and don't succeed, didn't the incoming player have the option of giving the resulting shot back? This is not the case in WPA rules as spelled out in rule 9.7 and 9.8.
 
right

I don't think that the WPA rules were (at least fully) in use at the SBE.

In the SBE if you call a ball into a pocket and don't succeed, didn't the incoming player have the option of giving the resulting shot back? This is not the case in WPA rules as spelled out in rule 9.7 and 9.8.

You had to clarify if you were shooting a shot, or playing safe before shooting. If you played a shot and missed, you could be made to shoot again.
 
You had to clarify if you were shooting a shot, or playing safe before shooting. If you played a shot and missed, you could be made to shoot again.

At the SBE, right? That's what I thought, but that's not the WPA rule.

Anyone have any idea why the WPA rules would make a distinction that results in no option only on a miss with no balls pocketed? I haven't given it a lot of thought but I can't think of a reason off-hand. Maybe just to at least allow for the 2-way shot possibility (pot/safe) in at least some form.

I would think that under the WPA rules the 2-way shot is in effect most of the time since usually when you miss nothing goes down.
 
Last edited:
Yeah I'm pretty sure a miss = push at SBE.

Which is why I expected sooooo many more safeties in the final. Damn you SVB...
 
I agree with most of the people that have posted so far. This has made me quite upset, in fact.

Calling your shot is a Good Thing. In days of old, there was once a game called "Straighte Pool" where this rule was always kept. Some say that Straighte Pool games can still be found to this very day!

However.

Someone got confused, or had some bad rolls, or had their drink spiked with acid - whatever it was, the two-way shot (or the "shot to nothing" for us snooker types) was deleted from the game by accident.

No more creativity. No freedom to try something clever. Slow, slow, games with a lot less enjoyment. I saw some early games at the SBE, and the players all looked miserable. (The last day wasn't as bad, but of course that was spoiled by something else entirely. Surprised there isn't a thread about that..but I digress.)

Rotation games especially need to have this shot restored, or soon we will all be falling asleep at the US Open Push-out Championships.

By the way, this nonsense does not remove luck from the game. The luck just goes to the other player instead.

I will stop now, before this turns into a blog post. Please, please, somebody with both a common-sense brain _and_ some decent status in the US billiard world (if there is such a person) get on this abomination, and let us play again.
 
Back
Top