shot wrong balls in 8-ball

12310bch

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
There were several stripes and solid balls on the table when my opponent shot his solid and and missed. I had been distracted and when I turned my attention to the table again I ask my opponent which balls I was shooting . He replied ," you have solids"

I shot one solid in and lined up for the next when a railbird said
that I was shooting the wrong balls. I pulled up and ask my opponent which balls he told me were mine. He said that the guy was right and he had mistakenly told me the wrong balls.I know the guy and I know it was an honest mistake.

I asked what he wanted to do and he said he effed up, and for me to
continue shooting as I was, which I did, and I won the game.

Upon reflection I think we should have re-racked. The problem is that I would have run out with either stripes or solids.

What is your opinion.?
 
What you did was correct. In some leagues if you run out the wrong balls and legally pocket the eight, you WIN. They must call a foul for you to stop shooting.
IF you are agreed and no one calls a foul. I believe you win.

If you would have missed simply continue the game with your opponent shooting the other balls.
 
Here's the BCA league rule:

3. Once they are established, groups can never change for the remainder of that game. If a player shoots the wrong group and no foul is called before the next shot and the player continues to shoot at that group, or if at any time during the game it is discovered by either player or a referee that the players are shooting the wrong groups, the game will be replayed with the player who broke the game breaking again.
 
if you can't pay attention don't ***** when you get called on it.....

you were there when the balls broke... right???

your game... your responsibility...


don't blame other people simply because you couldn't be bothered to pay attention to your own match...

... try putting your phone down...

...or try not whining...whatever.............

there is some kleenex for your tears on the end table... and if you are real broke up there is some vagisil in the drawer....

if you hit your own hand with a hammer.. I refuse to feel sorry for you...



another day in the land of coddled children....whatcha gonna do...
 
if you can't pay attention don't ***** when you get called on it.....

you were there when the balls broke... right???

your game... your responsibility...


don't blame other people simply because you couldn't be bothered to pay attention to your own match...

... try putting your phone down...

...or try not whining...whatever.............

there is some kleenex for your tears on the end table... and if you are real broke up there is some vagisil in the drawer....

if you hit your own hand with a hammer.. I refuse to feel sorry for you...



another day in the land of coddled children....whatcha gonna do...
Your comments are uncalled for.
The OP is not whining and is by no means a coddled child.
He was merely asking a pool related question, trying to determine point of order for a situation that arose.
You are obviously not qualified to answer .
Please go back to NPR if you wish to verbally attack someone.
You are out of line here.
 
the VNEA rule on this is if you shoot 2 or more of the wrong balls before it is realized you are then that ball group...IF im wrong on this please someone correct me because that is how i have played those rules and seen them played by the entire time ive played pool. so it sounds like it depends on what rules you were playing by?
 
if you can't pay attention don't ***** when you get called on it.....

you were there when the balls broke... right???

your game... your responsibility...


don't blame other people simply because you couldn't be bothered to pay attention to your own match...

... try putting your phone down...

...or try not whining...whatever.............

there is some kleenex for your tears on the end table... and if you are real broke up there is some vagisil in the drawer....

if you hit your own hand with a hammer.. I refuse to feel sorry for you...



another day in the land of coddled children....whatcha gonna do...

Woah .. I completely understand where you are coming from if the poster was complaining or whining about the outcome of the game. Nowhere do I see your complaints of his bit**ing or whining. Nowhere do I see him blaming other people for how things played out. Nowhere do I see him needing or asking for a tissue, which you so graciously pointed out for him.

All I see is a lot of your own anger coming out of nowhere and accusing a guy that had an out of the ordinary situation happen that .. in my opinion... he felt bad about the outcome. It could of been called the way it was or it could of been a re-rack, and he won the game and was just wondering if it played out correctly. I don't see any whining, bit**ing, complaining, or crying in his post ... only yours.

To the OP, a re-rack would of been acceptable, but if your opponent says he's not calling a foul and to keep shooting, that's perfectly fine also. Don't feel bad for running out and winning, you earned it. :)
 
Master Cueist, you are correct. If your opponent doesn't call foul after the first shot, you become that group of balls.

Last year I was refing a small tourney where that happened.
The only difference was that the opponent knew that the shooter was shooting his balls. He waited until the shooter was on the 8 before he called foul. He thought he was going to get a ball in hand on the 8. Nope. That was intentional.

Now, if the mistake is caught before the 8 is shot, it is a re rack. If the 8 is shot, thats his game.

A few days ago at the Western Canadians, that is how we would have played it. I specifically asked that question should the situation would have come up. That was the reply I got. Forgive me if I'm wrong. There may be a difference between how it is still recognized in league as opposed to International Rule in a tourney.

And 123, I think your opponent was a good sportsman for admitting he screwed up and not making a scene over it.
 
Last edited:
Softshit's just pissed because he still has 10 ft. of snow in Minneysoatah
and it's 75 degrees here in Aridzona. Tough shit, Softshit.(or is that an oxymoron?):kma:
 
DoubleD has a good point

The railbird should have nothing to say that influences the outcome of
a game.
Other than that,I think the situation was handled well...the wrong group
of balls were shot with the agreement of the opponent
 
Where I play if you don't know which balls you are shooting, your opponent is certainly not going to tell you. If your team mates tell you it's a foul and your opponent gets ball in hand. Best pay attention when you are not at the table in my home room.:thumbup:
 
the VNEA rule on this is if you shoot 2 or more of the wrong balls before it is realized you are then that ball group...IF im wrong on this please someone correct me because that is how i have played those rules and seen them played by the entire time ive played pool. so it sounds like it depends on what rules you were playing by?

That used to be the rule and has since been changed to the rule posted above.

The reason I know this is because I had always wanted to try and switch suits during a game JUST TO SEE if I could get away with it before my opponent had a chance to call it on me! That would mean I would have to "shoot AND make" two of my opponents balls in BEFORE they spoke up.....

So a few years back I asked a ref at a VNEA state tournament about thus rule and he told me that it had been changed the prior year.

He did say that deliberately pocketing two balls of the wrong suit before relinquishing your turn should result in a loss of game. Accidentally doing so should result in a rerack with origional breaker breaking.
 
There were several stripes and solid balls on the table when my opponent shot his solid and and missed. I had been distracted and when I turned my attention to the table again I ask my opponent which balls I was shooting . He replied ," you have solids"

I shot one solid in and lined up for the next when a railbird said
that I was shooting the wrong balls. I pulled up and ask my opponent which balls he told me were mine. He said that the guy was right and he had mistakenly told me the wrong balls.I know the guy and I know it was an honest mistake.

I asked what he wanted to do and he said he effed up, and for me to
continue shooting as I was, which I did, and I won the game.

Upon reflection I think we should have re-racked. The problem is that I would have run out with either stripes or solids.

What is your opinion.?

Your post above does not refer to what type of league/tournament rules you were playing under. If it was APA, you could have shot the wrong balls all the way THROUGH the 8-ball and been declared winner. If your opponent would have stopped you and called a foul after one (or more) balls BEFORE you got to the 8-ball, then he would have been awarded BIH and continued to shoot at his original suit of balls.

I did not mention other rule formats as some have been covered here.

I have always held the notion that no outsider (LO,TD, referee, etc.) rule decisions should be made if the two opponents can come to an amicable agreement in a timely fashion. I think the way you and your opponent handled the situation was about as sportsmanlike as it gets. And believe you me.......pool can sure use a large dose of more sportsmanship.

Maniac
 
Back
Top