Simple rule question

Otto

New member
I know that when it's time to rack 'em and:

15th ball lies in the kitchen but not on the head spot,
Cueball lies in the rack,

then the 15th ball stays in position, and the cueball is placed on the head spot.

Can the shooter legally shoot at the 15th ball?
 
I know that when it's time to rack 'em and:

15th ball lies in the kitchen but not on the head spot,
Cueball lies in the rack,

then the 15th ball stays in position, and the cueball is placed on the head spot.

Can the shooter legally shoot at the 15th ball?

Yes. :thumbup2: You might even intentionally play position off the 14th ball so the cue ball ends up in the rack in order to set up the situation you describe.
 
I actually carry a copy of that 'table' in my cue case. It answers sooooooooo many questions.
 
I do, too. And I keep a copy of the BCA rule book in my cue locker at my home room.

But notice that the question in my original post could NOT be answered by looking at the table.

Interestingly, I'm not sure it is answered in the rule book, either. If anyone cares to post the rule number which holds the answer, I'd be obliged.
 
I must say, I'm not even sure why you thought it might be illegal to shoot the 15 in the first place. Is it because the cueball is spotted manually, therefore you thought you might have to shoot out of the kitchen? Because if that's the cause of your question, to the best of my knowledge, the "shoot forward" rule only applies after scratching.
 
Yes. It seemed like a special case that would be covered specifically in the rule book, but it's not. But, as you point out, when it is not viewed as a special case it is perfectly well covered by the rules. After all, this case is not after a scratch. Thanks, that is what I was after.
 
"In the kitchen" means behind the string. On the headspot is on the string. So the cue ball on the headspot is already out of the kitchen.

Thank you kindly.
 
I know that when it's time to rack 'em and:

15th ball lies in the kitchen but not on the head spot,
Cueball lies in the rack,

then the 15th ball stays in position, and the cueball is placed on the head spot.

Can the shooter legally shoot at the 15th ball?

Yes but you have to shoot with the cue ball on the spot if the object ball is in the kitchen.
 
... Interestingly, I'm not sure it is answered in the rule book, either. If anyone cares to post the rule number which holds the answer, I'd be obliged.

From the WPA rules:

"4.8 Special Racking Situations
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.
(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.
(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.
(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.
(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.
In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.
"
 
From the WPA rules:

"4.8 Special Racking Situations
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.
(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.
(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.
(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.
(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.
In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.
"

Can I assume the "shoot forward" rule would apply if, after a re-rack, a player scratches while attempting to pocket the non-stack object ball, but that ball comes to rest behind the head string? That would be the other player's BIH in the kitchen, would it not?

Because it seems like this would be such a disadvantage for the player receiving the ball, I wondered if there was a special rule for this that I'm not finding anywhere (that allows placement on the head or center spot).
 
Can I assume the "shoot forward" rule would apply if, after a re-rack, a player scratches while attempting to pocket the non-stack object ball, but that ball comes to rest behind the head string? That would be the other player's BIH in the kitchen, would it not?

Because it seems like this would be such a disadvantage for the player receiving the ball, I wondered if there was a special rule for this that I'm not finding anywhere (that allows placement on the head or center spot).
You're missing the strategy. If the only loose ball is behind the line and your opponent scratches, one strategy is for you to shoot the cue ball directly into a side pocket.
 
You're missing the strategy. If the only loose ball is behind the line and your opponent scratches, one strategy is for you to shoot the cue ball directly into a side pocket.

Thank you!


I see the strategy of doing that, but just like you can defer a break shot if you win the lag, I wondered if there was a rule I wasn't seeing that prevented an advantage for what is normally a mistake. You've answered my question.
 
Back
Top