Tiger Claw 3 wing cutter?

jkmarshall_cues

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member

kgoods

Consistently Inconsistent
Gold Member
I'm new here but I would be worried the blade's cutting width is a little narrow?
I'm no expert either but I think every machine is different. I've tried 3 and 6 wing (1/4" cutter width) what's normally sold as spoilboard cutters, as well as several end mills with different numbers of flutes from 1 to 4 and different helix angles.

I finally found what gives me the best finish on my machine which is a whiteside 1/16" slot cutter. So, at least on my machine the narrow blade width works better than anything else I've tried (so far.... never done experimenting :) ).

Chili Palmer

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm no expert either but I think every machine is different. I've tried 3 and 6 wing (1/4" cutter width) what's normally sold as spoilboard cutters, as well as several end mills with different numbers of flutes from 1 to 4 and different helix angles.

I finally found what gives me the best finish on my machine which is a whiteside 1/16" slot cutter. So, at least on my machine the narrow blade width works better than anything else I've tried (so far.... never done experimenting :) ).

Isn't it weird how that stuff pans out some times. Unless someone I trusted told me to use a 1/16" wide cutter there's no way I would even try it.

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member
1/16th is very thin. You better get that dead center of the shaft or you're gonna get cat's claws.
I prefer 3/32.

Burnett Custom Cues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member