Why is this shot not valid?

I don't see how that would be loss or turn, the ball was made in the obvious pocket, it was not done with a bank or a combo or anything that may suggest the ball was not made in the pocket it was being played in. It was hanging in the pocket. It did not hit anything aside from the cueball. A double-kiss is not an unusual shot even by accident. There was 0 chance she was playing any other ball in any other pocket, it's not like there were two balls near each other for her to hit the wrong one.

If anything the shot should have been called a foul due to ferrule contact if there was any not because it was not a called shot.
 
As the incoming player, you decide to call the shot or not.
(when calling you only need say the ball and pocket, not how)
If you decide not to call the shot because it is obvious, you must play it 'straight in'.
If you play it in off other balls, or off cushions not touching the pocket, or hit it CB twice, it is end of visit.
Only 'straight in' shots are deemed to be obvious and therefore don't need to be called.

In this instance, no pocket was called. Ball was not potted 'straight in' so therefore end of visit.
Great explanation.

I like these rules. It makes perfect sense to me. It eliminates all debate on what is to be considered an "obvious" shot.

We had a lengthy discussion on this a few years ago.
 
I don't see how that would be loss or turn, the ball was made in the obvious pocket, it was not done with a bank or a combo or anything that may suggest the ball was not made in the pocket it was being played in. ...
The rules of Chinese 8-ball are different from the WPA rules. If the shot turns out to be unusual in any way, it has to have been called for it to count. Any complication means it is no longer obvious.

It is not a bad rule, but it is very different from the WPA rule. Well, in reading the rule carefully, it looks like kicks do not need to be called. Perhaps something was lost in translation. If not, the rule needs to be fixed.
 
This is like 8 ball played in some areas of Chicago. You must describe exactly how the ball will be made. If you carom, kiss, bank, combo or double hit, you better call it,. I hate that type of pool, it usually leads to arguments.
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8c3x8qSwnY&t=942s

At 4:12

Is it because the cue ball contact the object ball twice or is it because it is a scoop shot?

On another note: Is a scoop shot a foul shot? If it is, shouldn't it be ball in hand?

There was a miscue, and you can clearly hear the secondary contact with the ferrule and the cue ball. Thus it is a foul.

And just an FYI...your link goes to 15:42 for something you want us to watch at 4:12. Curious why you didn't link to 4:12?

KMRUNOUT
 
This is like 8 ball played in some areas of Chicago. You must describe exactly how the ball will be made. If you carom, kiss, bank, combo or double hit, you better call it,. I hate that type of pool, it usually leads to arguments.
Wrong. Read the thread again.
 
It is not a bad rule, but it is very different from the WPA rule. Well, in reading the rule carefully, it looks like kicks do not need to be called. Perhaps something was lost in translation. If not, the rule needs to be fixed.
I agree the wording appears to not require kick shots to be called. And I agree that needs to be fixed.
 
Last edited:
As the incoming player, you decide to call the shot or not.
(when calling you only need say the ball and pocket, not how)
If you decide not to call the shot because it is obvious, you must play it 'straight in'.
If you play it in off other balls, or off cushions not touching the pocket, or hit it CB twice, it is end of visit.
Only 'straight in' shots are deemed to be obvious and therefore don't need to be called.

In this instance, no pocket was called. Ball was not potted 'straight in' so therefore end of visit.

This is like 8 ball played in some areas of Chicago. You must describe exactly how the ball will be made. If you carom, kiss, bank, combo or double hit, you better call it,. I hate that type of pool, it usually leads to arguments.

Read the above quote by GB...if you call the ball and the pocket, you don't have to call how...
...if you DON'T call the ball and the pocket...it's gotta go clean.
 
Wrong. Read the thread again.
I guess I play a watered down version of the rules, which seem to work well in my pool world.
To me, "obvious" means intended ball and pocket, however it gets there.
I get what your saying but I don't even play all ball fouls. I try to minimize the rules in order to get my league players to focus on shooting rather than long arguments over details in the rules. My beer drinking league needs to keep it simple.

I understand that at a professional level with a ref the rules should be much tighter, but us bangers need a little leeway.
 
As the incoming player, you decide to call the shot or not.
(when calling you only need say the ball and pocket, not how)
If you decide not to call the shot because it is obvious, you must play it 'straight in'.
If you play it in off other balls, or off cushions not touching the pocket, or hit it CB twice, it is end of visit.
Only 'straight in' shots are deemed to be obvious and therefore don't need to be called.

In this instance, no pocket was called. Ball was not potted 'straight in' so therefore end of visit.
That's fair
 
This shot would be perfectly legal in regular pool. You just need to call the object ball and the pocket, in this case very obvious, and only an intentional miscue is a foul.

Miscues are almost always a foul because the shaft hits the cue ball twice (ugly noise). Nobody calls it in pool for some reason. Possibly because with a very slow stroke, the cue ball can sometimes push off the tip without a shaft rebound and would be a miscue without a foul.

I notice the weird non-foul miscue happens a lot more with my Revo shaft.
 
As the incoming player, you decide to call the shot or not.
(when calling you only need say the ball and pocket, not how)
If you decide not to call the shot because it is obvious, you must play it 'straight in'.
If you play it in off other balls, or off cushions not touching the pocket, or hit it CB twice, it is end of visit.
Only 'straight in' shots are deemed to be obvious and therefore don't need to be called.

In this instance, no pocket was called. Ball was not potted 'straight in' so therefore end of visit.

I have always thought that the call pocket rule was in place until some professional players did not call obvious pocket and were penalized. Thereafter, the rules in important tournaments were changed such that it is not necessary to call pockets for obvious shots.

What GB Basher is implying is that there is a big difference between calling a pocket and not calling a pocket. If you call pocket, then as long as the called ball goes into that pocket regardless of how it goes in, then it is a valid pot. If you do not call pocket, then it must be straight in. Any other ways would deem it to be invalid although not a foul shot. That seems to contradict what I mention in the para above.

In a recent local game I was in, we played 8 balls and had to call pocket. You can actually play a safety shot by intentionally not calling pocket. After pocketing your ball, the turn goes to the opponent. Isn't that the same as calling safety first? I don't see safety call shots being played on televised 8 ball game though. Correct me if I am wrong.
 
Back
Top