Why was this a foul?

I don't think its a foul, and commentator says its because 2ball was frozen and nothing hit the rail after, but commentator only said that because he couldn't think of anything else, the 2 ball wasn't frozen and cueball hit the end rail as you said, but I think the referee said foul because he thinks that he touched the 10ball slightly, or maybe he did touch the 10ball but we couldn't see it from the camera angel, thats the only way this shot would have been a foul imo.

another option is why it would be a foul, if you notice how he hit the cueball, I think he pushed it in someway that he hitted it twice, check that up too.
 
And not only did Bucky not say anything the commentator didn't question it either. It wasn't even close. Odd.
 
Unless I'm missing something why was this shot called a foul by Shayne Morrow? Scroll ahead to the 23:00 mark and watch Bucky's shot on the 2 ball. Not only was the 2 ball not frozen but even if it was the cue ball reached the bottom rail anyway --->

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xGzq-SzTM4

I agree. I see it the same way you do! Interesting that both players and the commentator adree on the foul. I would like to know what I am missing?
 
It looks to me that he either pushed through the cue ball or double hit the cue ball. The announcer wasn't paying attention and assumed the foul differently. Bucky didn't say a word, so that tells me he must have fouled the cue ball some how.
 
Unless I'm missing something why was this shot called a foul by Shayne Morrow? Scroll ahead to the 23:00 mark and watch Bucky's shot on the 2 ball. Not only was the 2 ball not frozen but even if it was the cue ball reached the bottom rail anyway --->

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xGzq-SzTM4

It looks like it wasn't a foul. No double hit was visible, and he sure got a rail. I think someone got away with something.
 
Last edited:
Ya I really dont think that was a foul, someone got lucky, and someone got jipped.
Jake​
 
It looked as if the two was not froze,and even if it was cue ball hit the bottom rail.

Good hit in my eyes.
 
I think the guy calling the foul got away with one. Maybe 2 if those open toe sandals dont meet the dress code.:o
 
i had to watch it twice.

it looked to me he pushed the cue ball,i believe that is where the foul was.
 
i had to watch it twice.

it looked to me he pushed the cue ball,i believe that is where the foul was.
Well, it's possible that he touched the cue ball barely on his last approach and then shot, but I see nothing wrong with the final stroke itself.
 
Thats the strangest looking foul i ever seen!i take this back ,if you watch slow mo,he pushes the qball;
 
Last edited:
Thats the strangest looking foul i ever seen!i take this back ,if you watch slow mo,he pushes the qball;

how did you watch it in slow mo ? i just backed it up once and watched it again. it did not dawn on me the 1st time that the cue ball acted funny but the 2nd time it looked like a push because the cue ball did not roll for the 1st 3 or 4 inches or that is what it looked like to me.
 
If he double hit the cueball then I can see them calling a foul but the commentators said the 2 was frozen and he didn't hit a rail after which he clearly did.Not sure whats worse,the player getting the ball in hand or the commentators not having a clue?
 
I don't see it in replay,but touching the cue ball just before the last stroke would explain why Souvanthong gave in to the call without a fight.
 
Back
Top