One of those situations where you can choose to be a good sportsman or not.
Everybody knows Earl intended to make the 10 and he made the 10, this is what
the call-shot rule is there for, for players to make intentional shots.
Yes, by the letter of the rule Jayson was right, but not by the intention of the rule.
This is similar to your openent lining up for the 5-ball when the 4 is still on the table
in 9/10-ball. You can choose to be a good sportsman and warn him or choose to be
less then a good sportsman and not warn him. It does not matter (to me) whether or
not Earl was a good sportsman during that match, I know that I would always tell
my oponent he's lining up the wrong ball because I strive to be a good sportsman.
So for me, the outcome of the decision of the TD is in line with the intention of the
rules even if that is not the reason the TD arrived at the ruling he made.
Regards, Dave
Everybody knows Earl intended to make the 10 and he made the 10, this is what
the call-shot rule is there for, for players to make intentional shots.
Yes, by the letter of the rule Jayson was right, but not by the intention of the rule.
This is similar to your openent lining up for the 5-ball when the 4 is still on the table
in 9/10-ball. You can choose to be a good sportsman and warn him or choose to be
less then a good sportsman and not warn him. It does not matter (to me) whether or
not Earl was a good sportsman during that match, I know that I would always tell
my oponent he's lining up the wrong ball because I strive to be a good sportsman.
So for me, the outcome of the decision of the TD is in line with the intention of the
rules even if that is not the reason the TD arrived at the ruling he made.
Regards, Dave