This subject came up in conversation last night between several of the players in a tournament. The question was brought to me, as a "what would you call" after the fact, however I was not present to witness the actual events.
Game:
8-ball modified BCA rules
Situation:
Player A has BIH after a foul by Player B. Player A places the CB on the felt near the side pocket. Player A then proceeds to check his aim at the OB with his cue holding it with one hand. He was not in a shooting position. He slips and accidentally knocks the CB into the side pocket with the shaft of his cue. Player B calls a foul, and Player A insists it was not a foul, and he should still have BIH. The TD ruled in favor of Player A.
What is the call and why?
Game:
8-ball modified BCA rules
Situation:
Player A has BIH after a foul by Player B. Player A places the CB on the felt near the side pocket. Player A then proceeds to check his aim at the OB with his cue holding it with one hand. He was not in a shooting position. He slips and accidentally knocks the CB into the side pocket with the shaft of his cue. Player B calls a foul, and Player A insists it was not a foul, and he should still have BIH. The TD ruled in favor of Player A.
What is the call and why?