double-the-distance aiming method (PIM: Pocket Intersection Method)

dr_dave

Instructional Author
Gold Member
Silver Member
I was an engineering student at the Colorado School of Mines and we had a new freshman come in that could play pool pretty good, but after watching him a long time I noticed he was missing a lot of shots that he should never miss. So I asked him how he was aiming and he said he aimed the cuestick at the contact point on every shot.

So I told him that it wouldn't work for every shot and that's why he misses some shots consistently.

My conversation with him made me think about HOW to aim the cuestick and how to derive a mathematically correct aim point for every shot.

So using E2 paper I started trying to derive a geometric rule of where to aim the cueball to make every shot. I noticed that if the CB and OB are the same size that the CP (contact point) will always be halfway between the center of the OB and the center of the CB when you flatten it back to two dimensions. So I just went to a pool hall and started measuring and it worked. Small step from there to just visualize the distance from the center-to-center point and double it.

The caveat is that it's dependent on you having good vision AND the position of your dominant eye comes into play. I thought that it would work better if you used your dominant eye to sight down the cue like a rifle. If you played with the cue in between your eyes, I thought the system would break down. I had always played with my dominant eye over my cue so it wasn't a big adjustment for me.