What is the Difference Between Cortland and Irish Linen???

DelaWho???

Banger McCue
Silver Member
Irish linen seems to be the more widely used wrap. What is the difference between Cortland and Irish Linen in terms of feel, durability, and cost?

:cool:

Scott Lee

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Dan...I'm no expert on this, but I believe Cortland IS Irish Linen...it's just a brand name that's very old. I don't think it's made anymore, but there are cuemakers who still have "stashes" of Cortland linen. You used to find Cortland linen on all the old cues. IIRC, it is a 'finer' (thinner) cord, and many cuemakers would press the linen, on the cue, after it was wrapped. If I'm wrong here, I'm sure some folks in the know will correct me.:D

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com

Irish linen seems to be the more widely used wrap. What is the difference between Cortland and Irish Linen in terms of feel, durability, and cost?

greyghost

Coast to Coast
Silver Member
Dan...I'm no expert on this, but I believe Cortland IS Irish Linen...it's just a brand name that's very old. I don't think it's made anymore, but there are cuemakers who still have "stashes" of Cortland linen. You used to find Cortland linen on all the old cues. IIRC, it is a 'finer' (thinner) cord, and many cuemakers would press the linen, on the cue, after it was wrapped. If I'm wrong here, I'm sure some folks in the know will correct me.:D

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com

Scott you are correct, the company is actually still in business but like you said they don't manufacture that type of cord any more. Its just a particular brand that as you also stated was just finer in texture.