married balls

Not a foul if you use a regular stroke because the balls are touching and there's no double hit.

On second thought, if the cue ball were married, it would most likely be at home with the wife and kids instead of the pool hall, so that's a rhetorical question.
 
Oh this thread is about pool.... I came here expecting something else.

If the cueball and the object ball are touching there is no push. It is also possible to make some weird looking things happen.

The more mass in front of the cueball the bigger the action depending on the stroke you put on it. It's that principle that allows for some of the more famous trick shots.
 
... If the cueball and the object ball are touching there is no push. ...

Even if the CB and OB are frozen, it is possible to have a push-shot foul. But a normal shot taken straight ahead toward the frozen OB is not a foul. WPA (world-standardized) rule:

6.8 Push Shot
It is a foul to prolong tip-to-cue-ball contact beyond that seen in normal shots.
 
Oh this thread is about pool.... I came here expecting something else.

Me too.

I was thinking this thread would be talking about the reason why guys don't get out and play more pool?


Eric
 
is it a foul to shoot a object ball straight when it is married to the cue ball. if so why

Also, you might want to use the term "frozen" rather than married, as it is the vernacular used in pool halls. Makes you look more "experienced" too :thumbup:
 
I could swear according to bca rules that if balls are frozen you have to shoot down 45 degrees or away 45 degrees otherwise it's a push and a foul
 
According to what league (if you are talking about league play). Some leagues it is a foul to shoot straight into the ball. Some you have to have the cue at least a 45 degree angle. Just according to what league you are playing.
 
push -double hit

Oh this thread is about pool.... I came here expecting something else.

If the cueball and the object ball are touching there is no push. It is also possible to make some weird looking things happen.

The more mass in front of the cueball the bigger the action depending on the stroke you put on it. It's that principle that allows for some of the more famous trick shots.

A "push" is a very different thing from a double hit.

...and a "push out" (usually called a "push" in 9-ball) is also different from a "push" foul, which means keeping the tip in contact with the CB.
 
I could swear according to bca rules that if balls are frozen you have to shoot down 45 degrees or away 45 degrees otherwise it's a push and a foul
I don't think the BCA ever had a 45-degree rule. I recently looked at the various rule sets that are available on-line and I could not find any 45-degree rule. I think that is a good thing because the 45-degree rule is bogus and based on ignorance and laziness.
 
I don't think the BCA ever had a 45-degree rule. I recently looked at the various rule sets that are available on-line and I could not find any 45-degree rule. I think that is a good thing because the 45-degree rule is bogus and based on ignorance and laziness.

The BCA leauge rules may call for that, not the BCA rules like the pro players use. I know that the TAP league has a very loose rule about close hits and double-hits, basically you need to shoot away from the shot or jack up, as long as you do that they can't call a foul. I've posted this a few times, you don't actually have to not foul, just look like you are trying not to foul and it's OK.
 
VNEA rules state that you must strike the cue ball at a 45degree angle from the line between the centers of the balls, if they are closer than one chalk width apart or frozen, to avoid the double hit foul. BCA league rules used to state that if the balls were determined to be frozen by both players or a ref, if there is one, that you could strike through the cue ball towards the object ball. I haven't been a BCA member for a long time so I am not sure if that still holds. As far as the Valley rules go, the intent of the rule is that the center of the cue ball cannot pass the center of the object ball unless you double hit it. Not sure I buy that, but them's the rules.
 
I think it's a push (foul) when cue is frozen to another ball, let's say on a straight on shot, and they are on one end of table and shooter shoots shot and sends cue to opposite end. How can cue move so far unless being pushed through by cue?
 
I think it's a push (foul) when cue is frozen to another ball, let's say on a straight on shot, and they are on one end of table and shooter shoots shot and sends cue to opposite end. How can cue move so far unless being pushed through by cue?

If they are frozen, that would normally not be a foul. Since they are frozen, you can think of it as though you are striking a combined, 12-oz. object instead of a single, 6-oz. object. The two balls move together initially -- no double hit on the CB and no extended "push" shot if just a normal stroke is taken. A push shot is defined (WPA) as "prolong[ed] tip-to-cue-ball contact beyond that seen in normal shots."

So, for example, if the CB and OB are frozen and you strike the CB above center with a normal follow stroke (as if you were lagging, say) and straight at the OB, both balls will go down the table at about the same speed and it is not a foul (WPA rules). [In fact, it's possible to make the CB pass the OB with a legal shot.]
 
Back
Top