https://www.facebook.com/RailbirdsProductions/videos/229875310680551/
Doubt I did this right. Fingers crossed. Watch the 2 ball.
Doubt I did this right. Fingers crossed. Watch the 2 ball.
Its a tough one to swallow if your the shooter, but the ball is not pocketed if it does NOT STAY DOWN . Therefore the balls stay the way the lay and its the next shooters turn at the table. I know that is not the popular vote but its the rule.
10. POCKETED BALLS. A ball is considered as a pocketed ball if as a result of an otherwise legal shot, it drops off the bed of the table into the pocket and remains there. (A ball that drops out of a ball return system onto the floor is not to be construed as a ball that has not remained pocketed.) A ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the table bed is not a pocketed ball
NOT pocketed. The rules are very clear on this. Any OB that goes into a pocket, but then ruturns to the bed of the table is NOT pocketed. This happens all the time in drop pocket tables, that is why that rule is in place.
Edit, here is the rule (8.3):
link:
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play#8.3
Text:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
NOT pocketed. The rules are very clear on this. Any OB that goes into a pocket, but then ruturns to the bed of the table is NOT pocketed. This happens all the time in drop pocket tables, that is why that rule is in place.
Edit, here is the rule (8.3):
link:
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play#8.3
Text:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
I think the first sentence is just generally describing what is a pocketed ball under "normal circumstances". And the end of the paragraph describes what happens under abnormal circumstances, where the ball ends up back on the table bed.
I agree, it is vague on a ball return table. But, I think in the spirit of the rule, a TD would rule the ball not pocketed, because it returned to the bed, and that is how its always been on these rule books. I don't think the spirit of the rules is to qualify what type of pocket system is in play. It either stays down, or returns to the bed of the table. The rule does not care how or why this happened.
I think the most famous case of this, is when Efren and his opponent both had a ball jump back out of the pocket on them. The pocket had a camera or someitng in it, that messed it up. That was clearly a case of something interfering inside the pocket. But the ball came back on the bed, and the official ref ruled it non-pocketed.
https://www.facebook.com/RailbirdsProductions/videos/229875310680551/
Doubt I did this right. Fingers crossed. Watch the 2 ball.
I think the first sentence is just generally describing what is a pocketed ball under "normal circumstances". And the end of the paragraph describes what happens under abnormal circumstances, where the ball ends up back on the table bed.
I agree, it is vague on a ball return table. But, I think in the spirit of the rule, a TD would rule the ball not pocketed, because it returned to the bed, and that is how its always been on these rule books. I don't think the spirit of the rules is to qualify what type of pocket system is in play. It either stays down, or returns to the bed of the table. The rule does not care how or why this happened.
I think the most famous case of this, is when Efren and his opponent both had a ball jump back out of the pocket on them. The pocket had a camera or someitng in it, that messed it up. That was clearly a case of something interfering inside the pocket. But the ball came back on the bed, and the official ref ruled it non-pocketed.
What part of the above rule you cited applies in this situation?