Fatboy's Very Good Lawyer Advice

Logandgriff

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
I just posted the following in the "Where's Cocobolo Cowboy" thread but I want to repeat this here too:

Fatboy says: "I never take biz advice from a lawyer-that’s only 2nd worse than suicide."

I'm not sure about the suicide part but the part before the dash is very wise thinking. I've been a business lawyer for almost 50 years and one of the keys to my success was not giving business advice. Got a lot of client compliments about that.

IMO the business lawyer should figure out what the client wants and get it for him or her. If the law or the other side won't let you get there, figure out another way to get the client what he or she wants or as close to it as possible. Explain to the client what the situation is in clear and simple terms; the client does not want to be bothered with the details or legal b.s.

And return all client calls and emails within 15 minutes.

pwd72s

recreational banger
Silver Member
I knew I'd found the right lawyer when he told me that he never goes to court...that he writes contracts so there's no need to go to court. That was a couple of decades ago. So far, so good...

ShootingArts

Smorg is giving St Peter the 7!
Gold Member
Silver Member
(SlateMan)
and bill in 1 hour increments.... :)

And bill in 1 hour increments at his rate for everyone including the receptionist. I am pretty sure my lawyer billed in one hour increments for his answering machine. He could bill over 150 hours a week and still have time for three rounds of golf during the workweek. Funny thing, if I had billed like that in any of my businesses it would have been called fraud. Almost all politicians being lawyers has a lot to answer for!