Reminds me of most city employees: you have a worker in the ditch, a watcher sitting outside the ditch and you have a watcher-watcher in the truck drinking coffee.I wonder too, who refs the refs?
Is there a 'Coefficient of Referee Reprimand'??? Starting to dig this 'coefficient' deal.what if you breathe on the cue ball accidentally is that a loss of game and a flogging?
i guess if a tshirt that touches a ball is a foul then lets get our coefficient goggles out with a faro arm distribulatorIs there a 'Coefficient of Referee Reprimand'??? Starting to dig this 'coefficient' deal.![]()
he clearly pushed it with a forward stroke. and that is a foul according to all the rules.
and playing in a tournament you are playing a game of rules. and nothing is nitty in calling any rule violation in a tournament.
in a cash game you dont get paid, get in a fight, or lose a customer.
I think in the end, the rule needs a rewrite. For all that say that the written rules are clear that what Chang did is a foul (touched with tip in a forward motion), then you must acknowledge that the rules are then explicit that if you use only the ferrule or shaft, but move the cueball in a forward stroking motion … then that has to also be a foul.
The rule literally says “any part of the stick” and “but not with a forward stroke motion.” This wording is by the grammar not exclusive to the tip. Rather, it’s explicitly to all and any part of the stick. Surely the same “letter of the law” posters aren’t going to say that moving the cueball forward with the ferrule and only ferrule is a foul when moving the cueball straight forward in a down and addressed stance.
“Players may use any part of the cuestick to move the cue ball, including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion.”
Rewriting is mandatory. Grammar and punctuation dictate it.
I think in the end, the rule needs a rewrite. For all that say that the written rules are clear that what Chang did is a foul (touched with tip in a forward motion), then you must acknowledge that the rules are then explicit that if you use only the ferrule or shaft, but move the cueball in a forward stroking motion … then that has to also be a foul.
The rule literally says “any part of the stick” and “but not with a forward stroke motion.” This wording is by the grammar not exclusive to the tip. Rather, it’s explicitly to all and any part of the stick. Surely the same “letter of the law” posters aren’t going to say that moving the cueball forward with the ferrule and only ferrule is a foul when moving the cueball straight forward in a down and addressed stance.
“Players may use any part of the cuestick to move the cue ball, including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion.”
Rewriting is mandatory. Grammar and punctuation dictate it.
Best post in the thread. It is just as important that the rule be crystal clear to players as referees if the strictest possible enforcement is to be reasonable.I think in the end, the rule needs a rewrite. For all that say that the written rules are clear that what Chang did is a foul (touched with tip in a forward motion), then you must acknowledge that the rules are then explicit that if you use only the ferrule or shaft, but move the cueball in a forward stroking motion … then that has to also be a foul.
The rule literally says “any part of the stick” and “but not with a forward stroke motion.” This wording is by the grammar not exclusive to the tip. Rather, it’s explicitly to all and any part of the stick. Surely the same “letter of the law” posters aren’t going to say that moving the cueball forward with the ferrule and only ferrule is a foul when moving the cueball straight forward in a down and addressed stance.
“Players may use any part of the cuestick to move the cue ball, including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion.”
Rewriting is mandatory. Grammar and punctuation dictate it.
I think in the end, the rule needs a rewrite. For all that say that the written rules are clear that what Chang did is a foul (touched with tip in a forward motion), then you must acknowledge that the rules are then explicit that if you use only the ferrule or shaft, but move the cueball in a forward stroking motion … then that has to also be a foul.
The rule literally says “any part of the stick” and “but not with a forward stroke motion.” This wording is by the grammar not exclusive to the tip. Rather, it’s explicitly to all and any part of the stick. Surely the same “letter of the law” posters aren’t going to say that moving the cueball forward with the ferrule and only ferrule is a foul when moving the cueball straight forward in a down and addressed stance.
“Players may use any part of the cuestick to move the cue ball, including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion.”
Rewriting is mandatory. Grammar and punctuation dictate it.
I find no fault with this, but when it comes to rules that come up once in a blue moon (when was the last time anyone has seen this call made?), I guess the referee has little choice. Rules and their application evolve over time, however, and rule books need to keep pace with such evolution.Even the officials seem to have drifted into accepting what is common practice which isn't the way to officiate. Not right to expect people to follow unwritten rules.
Yes, but it's different on a Diamond than on a Rasson.Is there a 'Coefficient of Refereeing'?? Asking for friend.
I find no fault with this, but when it comes to rules that come up once in a blue moon (when was the last time anyone has seen this call made?), I guess the referee has little choice. Rules and their application evolve over time, however, and rule books need to keep pace with such evolution.
Another interesting shot I've seen only a couple of times in my life is when someone kicks at a ball and hits it so thin that the ball barely quivers. You must be in the right place to see this. Otherwise you would never know the object ball was contacted. I called this good hit a couple of times and the opponent fiercely objected. Of course I was standing very close to the object ball and he was sitting down at the far end of the table.It says a good bit about a person's character when they call or don't call a foul on themselves that someone else can't possibly see. Sometimes only someone in the absolute perfect position or the player knows they fouled like touching a cue ball without moving it. Unless the other player or the referee is at a perfect right angle to the shot, maybe only a right angle on the side they are applying side on, they can't be sure. The player knows though. It is a ball in hand foul generally, at the very least it counts as a shot, does the player call it on themselves or not? Often players don't and it isn't the kind of thing that particularly lowers my opinion of a person if they don't, but it does raise my opinion of a person when they do.
Hu
The Tournament Director is the final authority.I wonder too, who refs the refs?