(Unnoticed) 9-Ball Foul - Object Ball Out of Order

heater451

Registered
In APA 8-ball, I believe that there is a rule that if a player shoots the wrong suit (obviously, closed table), and pockets a 2nd ball of the same suit before anyone notices the foul, then they get to claim that suit--or are now assigned that suit. I have never heard of a similar rule in 9-ball, and have only done minimal web searching to try and find an answer (which I did not find).

In 9-ball, is there a similar rule, where if a ball is shot out of order but no one notices, and the shooter pots the next ball then they get the benefit of the lack of oversight? And the foul could no longer be called retroactively? [Note, this is assuming that it was unintentional--I have been guilty of falling into 8-ball mode during a 9-ball game myself, so I believe anyone else can as well.]
 
Depends on how good you both are at fightin.

I think if the inning following the error has finished, tough titties and play the game out.

I also I'm trying to envision a scenario where the shooter shoots the ball after and then the ball before and neither participant notices upon the 2nd first ball that it is after what it is before.

Makes my head swim.
 
In 9-ball, is there a similar rule, where if a ball is shot out of order but no one notices, and the shooter pots the next ball then they get the benefit of the lack of oversight? And the foul could no longer be called retroactively?
If no one (the opponent) didn't even notice that the 5 ball was pocketed before the 3 ball (for instance) in 9 ball then how could he later complain? Did someone else tell him that happened?
You don't get to call a foul later down the line. It has to be immediately after the foul, before the next shot. Best to really pay attention!! We have all paid a price for inattention somewhere along the way. Hopefully we all learned from it!
 
Last edited:
Long ago and not so far away One of the early video guys was recording a pool tournament. Offered me a place in the booth, nope. "You will be on camera part of the time!" Make that a double nope, no desire to be famous. I did end up on camera for about thirty minutes, from just below the knee down!

I was sitting at the TV table but more interested in the game at the next table which I was mostly side-eyeing. A well known shortstop was shooting. The table was pretty easy so his opponent walked away during the shortstop's turn. The shot he was shooting was into a small cluster that would be broken by pocketing the ball and a touch of draw would break up the next ball and the only cluster left on the table.

The shortstop made no effort to break up the second cluster. Now my head is turned slightly away but my attention is locked on this table. The shortstop shot a ball several inches in front of the next ball in order, then went on to shoot another ball or two. Now he lines up on the orphan ball left behind awhile ago. "What will he do?" He pocketed it and runs out without ever turning a hair. Interesting and to be honest unexpected. He wasn't known for such shenanigans.

Hu
 
I believe there is a rule in one-pocket to cover this scenerio. A player shoots in the wrong hole, and keeps shooting. Once the mistake is noticed, the opponent gets credit for the first ball, but then all the remaining balls are spotted.
 
The 2 ball is hiding in the jaws on a blue cloth table and player A pockets the 3, the 4 and misses the 5.
Player B pockets the 5 just as Player A notices the 2 ball.

Can player B be called on a foul?
 
best for both who made the same mistake to iron it out as the whole thing is wrong.
that rack with the 2 ball just should be played over.

one can say you accepted the table.

and one can say you fouled and didnt say so and continued shooting and fouling and then saw me shooting and basically was dishonest in letting it go and foul.

the rules are not finite or if used that way only will bring arguments.

in a tournament the rules are final as they should be.
 
and yea you can call a foul on anyone at anytime. good luck getting payed, and you just lost your action with him and probably a few other bad players. but technically you will be in the right. some places you will be dead right.
 
Another interesting rule arose when Parica played Van Corteza in the US Open 8-ball. Parica had made the eight on the break but neither he nor Lee noticed. The rule in use was that eight on the break would spot and the player making it would retain control of the table. After Parica pocketed another ball before spotting the eight, the game was awarded to Lee.
 
neither noticed that but jose made two fouls in a row. one not spotting and one shooting with it not spotted.

but how would the ref rules if jose missed and lee had now shot.? would lee now lose? i guess so.
 
Back
Top