What would you have done?

A great illustration about this situation.

 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
I'm late to the post. FOUL. If it was my shot, my stick. I pick up the cue ball. Pass it to my opponent. Not say a word and go sit down. No matter what the situation. Set an integrity standard for yourself and the rest of the league.
 
wouldnt the cue ball have scratched if there was no equipment in the pocket?
 
How good/experienced was the other player?

If we're talking a 550 with a lot of league/tournament experience I don't even blink at calling it and moving on,

But if he was that level of player he probably would've picked up the cue ball and handed it to you disgusted with himself.

A low 400's player who just executed his first successful jump, I cut him some slack. Explain and let him continue.

Of course, in playoffs or beyond, it's a foul and is called/played as such.
I would have tased the offender, and scribbled on his face with a sharpie before he regained his senses.
Tough love.
😈
 
Regular BCA 9-ball league night:

Opponent against one of my teammates took out his break/jump cue to jump a ball. He broke down the stick, and put the bottom portion of the stick sticking up out of the corner pocket, near where he was standing. He executed the jump, got a good hit. OB went three rails around the table and into the pocket where he had placed the break/jump cue extension, touching it. The OB stayed down.

There was some debate on whether to call a foul. My position, in good sportsmanship, was to let him have it. We asked a highly respected very strong player (not on either my team nor our opponent's team that night) and he said he would let it go, but in a tournament, he would not. We ultimately gave it to him, let him continue shooting, with the understanding that it's not a good practice to put the extension in or on the table, lesson learned.

What would you have done?
I'm not one to call foul on every technicality, but this is clearly a foul, I'd call it and sleep like a baby.

I'd go even further and say that I actually get quite annoyed when my opponent does that extension-in-the-pocket-bit, knowing that I'd have to call foul on it if he hits it. Walk two steps and put in your bag, and let me try to beat you playing the game, rather than doing stupid shit like this.
 
So BCA rules (they were playing BCA league) don't matter to all these people saying it's a foul? Weird.
 
So BCA rules (they were playing BCA league) don't matter to all these people saying it's a foul? Weird.
I know right? Everyone that says "it's clearly a foul" or "I would call a foul all day" apparently didn't read that rule. The rule says its not a foul.
 
So BCA rules (they were playing BCA league) don't matter to all these people saying it's a foul? Weird.
In the quoted rule, Player A leaves his equipment on the table and Player B shoots a shot that contacts Player A's left equipment:

3. Situation: Player A, preparing to shoot a jump shot, unscrews the extended butt from their jump-break cue and places it in a pocket. They then forget that the butt is in the pocket and leave it there after their inning.
Player B shoots and a ball (a) rebounds from the pocket; (b) is pocketed despite the presence of the butt. Ruling: (a) foul on Player A; (b) The result of the shot stands and the game continues.
The discussion there is about whether a foul can be called on the non-shooting player.
 
if a player leaves something on the playing surface he has to be somewhat responsible for it unless it is blatantly visible and the opponent obviously accepted it being there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
In the quoted rule, Player A leaves his equipment on the table and Player B shoots a shot that contacts Player A's left equipment:

3. Situation: Player A, preparing to shoot a jump shot, unscrews the extended butt from their jump-break cue and places it in a pocket. They then forget that the butt is in the pocket and leave it there after their inning.
Player B shoots and a ball (a) rebounds from the pocket; (b) is pocketed despite the presence of the butt. Ruling: (a) foul on Player A; (b) The result of the shot stands and the game continues.
The discussion there is about whether a foul can be called on the non-shooting player.
Thank you for clarifying that, Bob. I misread it, and thought it was player A the whole time.
 
And please note that the BCAPL/CSI rule only applies in their events. Under WPA/WSR the shooter is responsible for any extraneous contact, such as with a template that their opponent has removed from the rack area and placed overhanging the nose of the cushion.

I thought of a related situation...

Suppose I know that a pocket rejects balls shot hard and I have to shoot hard. Am I allowed to place a wadded up paper towel in the bottom of the pocket to make it work right? I recently tried to do a lesson on a table with insanely sticky pocket liners. Any ball going straight against the pocket liner with good speed and roll got rejected back onto the table. Could I hang a paper towel over the back of the pocket to reduce the rejections?

The rules don't cover all situations. I think the general concept to apply is that you are allowed to take steps to make problem equipment function reasonably, so that fair play is possible.
 
Regular BCA 9-ball league night:

Opponent against one of my teammates took out his break/jump cue to jump a ball. He broke down the stick, and put the bottom portion of the stick sticking up out of the corner pocket, near where he was standing. He executed the jump, got a good hit. OB went three rails around the table and into the pocket where he had placed the break/jump cue extension, touching it. The OB stayed down.

There was some debate on whether to call a foul. My position, in good sportsmanship, was to let him have it. We asked a highly respected very strong player (not on either my team nor our opponent's team that night) and he said he would let it go, but in a tournament, he would not. We ultimately gave it to him, let him continue shooting, with the understanding that it's not a good practice to put the extension in or on the table, lesson learned.

What would you have done?
How much are you playing for? If for fun let it go but have a rule established after that (by the TD). Aside from improper etiquette how about respect the table. The pockets are not for anything other than holding pocketed balls
 
I think the applicable rule is 1-33.
1727443693667.png


And I would also remind them of rule 1-3
1727443794475.png


An object ball can go into a pocket and bounce back out and come on the table and it doesn't stay down. All that happens while the ball is "in motion". So clearly a ball "in motion" doesn't end its motion the moment it crosses the threshold of the pocket. It clearly contacted the players equipment while it was "in motion" because it hadn't yet come to rest.
 
On a related point... In one of the Mosconi Cups, Europe was beating us like red-headed mules. On the final shot of the final rack, the Euro guy threw his cue on the table in triumph while the cue ball was still moving. In the path of the cue ball. The ref quietly moved the cue stick aside and there was no foul. He mercifully saved us from more pain.
 
Here's the ruling straight from John Leyman

It is a foul based upon,

You can’t place anything on the table and have a ball run into it even in the pocket.

It is the same principle as placing your hand in a pocket which is a foul.


It becomes an argument on whether the ball would have fallen or did the hand or the object cause it to stay on the table.

So to stop any arguments you cannot put anything in the pocket including your hand or part of cue.
 
Last edited:
... It is the same principle as placing your hand in a pocket which is a foul.
...
I think this is a CSI-only rule. Note that in CSI, just putting your hand in the pocket at the wrong time is itself a foul whether you touch a ball or not:

Placing hand in pocket: It is a deliberate foul if you catch any ball that is falling into a pocket, or place your hand into a pocket while any ball in play is in motion near that pocket. (AR p. 97)
 
Back
Top