coring maple

Sheldon

dontneednostinkintitle
Silver Member
I had a really highly figured birdseye maple forearm break in half on me while I was sanding on it in the lathe.... it felt a little wiggly, so I gave it a good tug, and BAM, it's in 2 pieces. :D
Now I core them....

rhncue

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Im new to coring. Why is it necessary to core a maple forearm with a
maple dowel?

No one says you have to core maple but I always have because I am of the feeling that figured wood is less stable nor transfers the energy as well as straight grain maple. Why take a chance as it's so easy to core. The same reason that I use Nelsonite. Just extra insurance.

Dick

Eric Wynne

Banned
I core just about all my hardwoods but I don't use any maple that has to be cored . Doesn't have the hit or feel which is more important to me than looks ... The defective grain, even with a core, takes away some of the play ... Different strokes for different folks . :eek::cool:;)

rhncue

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I core just about all my hardwoods but I don't use any maple that has to be cored . Doesn't have the hit or feel which is more important to me than looks ... The defective grain, even with a core, takes away some of the play ... Different strokes for different folks . :eek::cool:;)

I've heard a lot of things said on these forums that don't make sense to me but this statement is close to the top of the list. If you don't core any maple because you don't believe coring will make any difference, just why are you coring all of your other hardwoods?

Dick

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member
I've heard a lot of things said on these forums that don't make sense to me but this statement is close to the top of the list. If you don't core any maple because you don't believe coring will make any difference, just why are you coring all of your other hardwoods?

Dick

Presto!