Bank Pool - Which of these 3 shots are legal?

fd_colorado

Go Pack Go!!!
Silver Member
Bank Pool - Which of these 3 shots are legal?


#1 -- Your called bank shot is back in the corner. You hit the ball way long and the object ball rebounds off the end rail and then strikes the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "back in the corner" bank?

#2 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Your object ball is a couple of inches out from and above the side pocket. You have cue ball in hand and shoot the object ball off of the the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?

#3 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Both the object and cue balls are beneath the side pocket. You rebound the object ball off the side pocket cushion point, at an acute angle, and the ball goes into the called pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?
 
i THINK the cushion CAN NOT be connected to the intended pocket if it is a ONE RAIL bank. So depending on which side of the side pocket you hit would determine whether or not it is legal.

As for caroming off a ball, I believe it is just call pocket so it wouldn't matter.

Again, this is mostly a guess but makes sense to me! :shrug:
 
Bank Pool - Which of these 3 shots are legal?


#1 -- Your called bank shot is back in the corner. You hit the ball way long and the object ball rebounds off the end rail and then strikes the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "back in the corner" bank?

#2 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Your object ball is a couple of inches out from and above the side pocket. You have cue ball in hand and shoot the object ball off of the the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?

#3 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Both the object and cue balls are beneath the side pocket. You rebound the object ball off the side pocket cushion point, at an acute angle, and the ball goes into the called pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?
I don't know, but I'd guess:

1. No
2. No
3. Yes

An observation: #1 and #2 can't both be good (the point would have to count as a rail for #2 but not for #1).

pj
chgo
 
i THINK the cushion CAN NOT be connected to the intended pocket if it is a ONE RAIL bank. So depending on which side of the side pocket you hit would determine whether or not it is legal.
I'd say a one rail bank into a corner can't use any of the long rail (on either side of the side pocket) "connected" to the pocket as the one rail called for the shot.

As for caroming off a ball, I believe it is just call pocket so it wouldn't matter.
I'm pretty sure all banks must go "clean" (without hitting another ball).

pj
chgo
 
No 1 is definitely a good shot. The corner of the side pocket is not another rail.

Not sure about the others.

Bill Strodu
 
#1 - No good!
#2 and #3 - Damn good if you can make it!
Let's ask Freddie what he thinks.
 
1. No
2. Yes
3. Yes

One rail is one rail. If you can aim it off the titty that well then you should be rewarded for it. It can't jiggle into the corner pocket though
 
To be clear, here's how I interpret the three shot descriptions:

CueTable Help



I think:

#1 is questionable and probably no good.
#2 is no good.
#3 is good.

If #2 was good, wouldn't this have to be good too?

CueTable Help



But if #2 is no good because the point doesn't count as a rail, then does that make #1 good because it doesn't hit an extra rail? That's what I don't know.

pj
chgo
 
Last edited:
Bank Pool - Which of these 3 shots are legal?


#1 -- Your called bank shot is back in the corner. You hit the ball way long and the object ball rebounds off the end rail and then strikes the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "back in the corner" bank?

#2 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Your object ball is a couple of inches out from and above the side pocket. You have cue ball in hand and shoot the object ball off of the the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?

#3 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Both the object and cue balls are beneath the side pocket. You rebound the object ball off the side pocket cushion point, at an acute angle, and the ball goes into the called pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?

From the way Bank was played before there were any written rules:

1 is good - 2 and 3 are not.

Number 2 is much the same as a shot I saw in a real game years ago.
I was 'backing' a friend of mine, a local Bank champion. His opponent
had a ball about 2 inches off the rail at the midde of the side pocket.
The cue ball was a few inches away, an almost dead straight-in to the
corner, he calls the ball cross-corner. Even I can tell he is going to
fire it into the point of the side pocket, playing it in the other corner.

I amble up to my 'player', say something like - you aren't going to let
him shoot that are you? It's illegal.

He says - so what, you should hope he shoots 2 or 3 a game
that same exact way.

Of course - it was MY 2 dollars we were betting.

Dale
 
Pocket Point Banks

If Im supposed to pay him out of my pocket he had better call the pocket point if hes going to use it. Yeah he can shoot all these he wants as long as he calls the slider. If he calls it out and you agree its good. If he doesnt make it plain and expects someone to pay for his likely hitting it bad but being technically right. He is going to need to find someone else to play.

I would like to hear what Freddy says.

336robin
 
If Im supposed to pay him out of my pocket he had better call the pocket point if hes going to use it. Yeah he can shoot all these he wants as long as he calls the slider. If he calls it out and you agree its good. If he doesnt make it plain and expects someone to pay for his likely hitting it bad but being technically right. He is going to need to find someone else to play.

I would like to hear what Freddy says.

336robin

I take it you're a bar pool player...

If you are talking about shot 1, he has already called it - the question is
meerly - can a player make a bank 'using' the point of the pocket.
Shot 1 is the same as a ball sliding down the long rail - I have seen, and
made many a bank of a ball close to the long rail that hit the rail
2 diamonds up from the corner pocket - on a Diamond table.

I would also be interested to hear from Freddy - but IMHO Bill Stroud
would know as much about something like this as anybody.

Unlike Jay, it would seem, we always played you couldn't bank balls
'off the points' of pockets.

Dale
 
Last edited:
Bottom line for me is that the BCA rulebook is too vague for me to base any answer on any of the 3 questions.

However, if I were playing a friendly game, I would be inclined to "give" the opponent #1.

Not allow #2 and allow #3.

I think #3 is the clearest to say yes to. My reasoning is that if #3 was a cross corner bank off the point there would be nothing to argue about.

One of the reasons why we have trouble with #2 and #3 is simply because they cannot be clearly called with any of the normal terminology.
 
The common rule

#1 It has always been a good shot, albeit lucky. I have been awarded, and also have paid off this shot, even in the worst tush-hog joints.

#2 Of course not. I couldnt get away with this shot if I had Carlo Gambino as my backer.

#3 Good shot. It has always been a good shot. One of the main keys to determining if a shot is legit is whether or not you can count it when you are playing away from home in a tough joint.

#4 Why would Billy Stroud know more about this bank pool question than me? What class did I fail to attend in my 55 years in the pool room?

Beard
 
#1.. has always been good but this year at the DCC (2011), Ken Schuman said it did not count if made.. There was a lot of confusion after he made that statement, not sure if he even understood what he was saying.. It's always counted and I've been both recipient and victim of the old tit on the long rail bank..

#2.. No chance..

#3.. as many others have stated, yes but good luck with that one..
 
Bank Pool - Which of these 3 shots are legal?


#1 -- Your called bank shot is back in the corner. You hit the ball way long and the object ball rebounds off the end rail and then strikes the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "back in the corner" bank?

#2 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Your object ball is a couple of inches out from and above the side pocket. You have cue ball in hand and shoot the object ball off of the the cushion point on the side pocket, sending it down the rail into the corner pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?

#3 -- Your called bank shot is one rail in the corner. Both the object and cue balls are beneath the side pocket. You rebound the object ball off the side pocket cushion point, at an acute angle, and the ball goes into the called pocket.

Is this a clean, "one rail in the corner" bank?
1. Yes - based on previous discussions when onepocket.org was doing the bank rules, this specific shot came up and was deemed good. I disagree, but I'm nobody.

2. Not in your wildest dreams. Then again, wildest dreams sometimes win out.

3. Yes, if I read it that you're banking off the point to some pocket not connected to the rail in question. And I do mean "rail."

Fred <~~~ never has to ref theses shots!
 
#1 It has always been a good shot, albeit lucky. I have been awarded, and also have paid off this shot, even in the worst tush-hog joints.

#2 Of course not. I couldnt get away with this shot if I had Carlo Gambino as my backer.

#3 Good shot. It has always been a good shot. One of the main keys to determining if a shot is legit is whether or not you can count it when you are playing away from home in a tough joint.

#4 Why would Billy Stroud know more about this bank pool question than me? What class did I fail to attend in my 55 years in the pool room?

Beard

.............................................................................................
#4 Why would Billy Stroud know more about this bank pool question than me? What class did I fail to attend in my 55 years in the pool room?
.............................................................................................

Easy there big fellow - nobody said, nor implied he knew more...

I said he knew enough. Based on the fact he scuffled around the country
for years before becomming a famous cuemaker, and knew every
worldbeater living or dead, and he was mentored by some guy named
Taylor, who is rumored to know a thing or two about Bank pool.

Dale
 
Back
Top