I understand that Bob Jewett is in the process of reviewing the world rules, so I thought we could start a thread to bring some points of ambiguity to his attention. I am sure he has a fair list already, but you never know what might have been overlooked. I hope this is not too late to be looked at.
I'll kick things off with a couple of problems with the writing of 8ball rule 4.2. which is defined here:
First problem, "Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket". Why is it only bank shots and combinations that are not considered obvious? Are caroms considered obvious (maybe tiny kisses are but long ones aren't)? kicks? masse's? jumps? I wouldn't have thought so. I think the answer to this one is to define what IS considered an obvious shot rather try to list every case that isn't obvious. Something like "a straightforward shot that cuts the object ball directly into the most accessible pocket". My wording sucks, but thats where Bob comes in.
Second problem with 4.2 is I think it contradicts itself in certain conditions. Hypothetically speaking, I have an "obvious shot" into a pocket, straight and no more than 1 foot total distance no other balls around it, so by the rules I don't need to call it because it's obvious. Lets say I shoot and miss the pot big time, launching the object ball round the table 2 times and luckily it ends up landing right into the pocket I was originally going for. Does the pot count? By convention yes, however the rule stipulates that bank shots are not obvious and must be called, so according to the rules it looks like it wasn't obvious and therefore couldn't have been implicitally called, hence the contradiction. Maybe rectified with some sort of "pre-shot intention" and "post shot result" clauses, or make it so fluke rebounds don't count.
Anyone else have some problems with the rules?
I'll kick things off with a couple of problems with the writing of 8ball rule 4.2. which is defined here:
4.2 CALL SHOT
In Call Shot, obvious balls and pockets do not have to be indicated. It is the opponent's right to ask which ball and pocket if he is unsure of the shot. Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket. When calling the shot, it is never necessary to indicate details such as the number of cushions, banks, kisses, caroms, etc. Any balls pocketed on a
foul remain pocketed, regardless of whether they belong to the shooter or the opponent. The opening break is not a "called shot." Any player performing a break shot in 8-Ball may continue to shoot so long as any object ball is legally pocketed on the break.
First problem, "Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket". Why is it only bank shots and combinations that are not considered obvious? Are caroms considered obvious (maybe tiny kisses are but long ones aren't)? kicks? masse's? jumps? I wouldn't have thought so. I think the answer to this one is to define what IS considered an obvious shot rather try to list every case that isn't obvious. Something like "a straightforward shot that cuts the object ball directly into the most accessible pocket". My wording sucks, but thats where Bob comes in.
Second problem with 4.2 is I think it contradicts itself in certain conditions. Hypothetically speaking, I have an "obvious shot" into a pocket, straight and no more than 1 foot total distance no other balls around it, so by the rules I don't need to call it because it's obvious. Lets say I shoot and miss the pot big time, launching the object ball round the table 2 times and luckily it ends up landing right into the pocket I was originally going for. Does the pot count? By convention yes, however the rule stipulates that bank shots are not obvious and must be called, so according to the rules it looks like it wasn't obvious and therefore couldn't have been implicitally called, hence the contradiction. Maybe rectified with some sort of "pre-shot intention" and "post shot result" clauses, or make it so fluke rebounds don't count.
Anyone else have some problems with the rules?