CB on lands on top rail

fish2

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Is it a foul in the game is 9 ball, a jump shot was done and the CB hits the 1 ball, but jumps and lands on top of the rail?
 
Is it a foul in the game is 9 ball, a jump shot was done and the CB hits the 1 ball, but jumps and lands on top of the rail?

Yes, cause it’s not resting on playing surface. I witness this happen at a WPBA event and that was the referee’s call.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Is it a foul in the game is 9 ball, a jump shot was done and the CB hits the 1 ball, but jumps and lands on top of the rail?

8.5 Driven off the Table

A ball is considered driven off the table if it comes to rest other than on the playing surface
but is not pocketed. A ball is also considered driven off the table if it would have been driven
off the table except for striking an object such as a light fixture, piece of chalk or a player
which causes it to return to the table.

A ball that contacts the top of the rail is not considered to have been driven off the table if it
returns to the playing surface or enters a pocket.


pj
chgo
 
i think if it rolls on top of the rubber part of the rail and doesnt touch the rest of the rail it is not a foul
icbw
The WPA and the ACS.
If it hits anything on the top rail, that's part of the top rail/table when mfg and returns to the play surface, continue play.
Like I.U.2.B rich said, chalk is NOT part of the table/Foul.
 
There's an old video/somewhere of Ron Rosas banking a ball down the long rail.
The obj. ball jumps to the GC top rail, hops over the side pocket.
Stays on the rail and then pockets in the corner. :)
 
I've heard of Good players jumping the cue ball On to the top of the top rail (when ALL other options are Not available), and then have it drop down and pocket a ball stuck on the inside of the side pocket.
 
another ambiguous rule. so it goes kind of straight up and hits the light. then how do you determine if it would have gone off the table if it didnt.

8.5 Driven off the Table

A ball is also considered driven off the table if it would have been driven
off the table except for striking an object such as a light fixture, piece of chalk or a player
which causes it to return to the table.
 
Ps, I’m not 100%, but maybe 75%, that in snooker it is a foul if a ball touches the wood portion of the rail (even if it returns to the slate). 3 cushion I can’t remember.
 
Lights are not Part of the table structure/foul.
I saw it one time! A super strong player made the CB go straight up on the break and break the fluorescent tubes. That was the end of that game:)

I can’t remember if it was on purpose when it actually happened. I know for a short while we were all trying to hit the light.
 
I saw it one time! A super strong player made the CB go straight up on the break and break the fluorescent tubes. That was the end of that game:)

I can’t remember if it was on purpose when it actually happened. I know for a short while we were all trying to hit the light.
Danny Medina?
 
Instinct tells me it's not a foul if it goes up on the rail then falls back onto the table naturally without touching something like chalk before it goes back down. I remember watching someone (it might have been Scott Frost) breaking in 9 ball where the cue ball jumped up on the light fixture and stayed there without dropping back down. I think they dropped it down vertically by hand and played it that way when it was back on the table. If not that way a player would have to play it 'off the light' just like a golfer plays a ball out of the sand trap.
 
Last edited:
Ps, I’m not 100%, but maybe 75%, that in snooker it is a foul if a ball touches the wood portion of the rail (even if it returns to the slate). 3 cushion I can’t remember.
In snooker, they don't care whether the ball hits wood rail while up there as long as it returns to the table or goes into a pocket.

It's only at carom that the ball must only contact the cloth-covered part of the rail. Further, no matter how many times the ball bounces on the top of the cushion, it counts as only one rail contact.
 
Ps, I’m not 100%, but maybe 75%, that in snooker it is a foul if a ball touches the wood portion of the rail (even if it returns to the slate). 3 cushion I can’t remember.

There was a video of some snooker shots that had a shot that travelled on the rails for a bit then pocketed a ball (I think it may have actually been the object ball that was hopped off the table, then into a pocket. It was counted as good, so that is not a rule in snooker.
 
Back
Top