Corey and Shane got reprimanded??? Not sure.

There wasn't any permanent marking going on, just pointing out. It's the same thing unless there is a rule that differentiates the two.

If he left his finger there, I can see the discrepancy, but it was coaching which is allowed.
Like the poster above asked, are there a mosconi cup set of rules for match play?

I agree, that's my point...that's why Corey told Shane to back away, because Shane was leaving his finger at the spot until Corey shot.
 
Are there any official parters rules for helping to line up a shot and pointing where to hit at the pro level for partners?

I know there are coaching rules for leagues that allow or dissallow those depending on the league and what you do, but for pro level parters don't think there is anything. I'm sure the regular rules for marking shots apply, but if you are playing singles you can put your hand on the table to point to where you want to go and on the rail also, so why not your partner?

Would be nice to see what rules they have laid out for partner matches. You can clearly see that talking between them is allowed at any point. Anyone have a copy of the Mosconi Cup Rulebook? Is there one?


I haven't seen any formal scotch doubles rules but not that I check that many rules either. I just try to keep it classy and we all know most rules anyway. It's the obscure rarely in effect rules that we get caught up on.

Not geared toward you (even though I quoted ya) but do all of you know how to measure one rail kick shots like SVB did there byt taking the distance from the OB to the rail and then extending beyond the rail to establish a kicking point?

Sometimes the distance is so much that measuring it and then picking a spot on a wall afterwards (to assist with the contact point of the rail) to get the right rail spot is required.

Sorry, just boggles me mind for anyone to think SVB wanted Corey to kick the 7 away and try to stop the CB right there. The degree of difficulty for that is much tougher.

Corey played the right shot with the intended result. I didn't hear what SVB said to Corey that made Corey say NO but asking him if he meant to make the ball isn't what I think Shane said. Maybe I'm wrong and my hearing just sucks but I think Corey meant to make the 7.


Gary
 
Sounded basically like:

Shane to Ref: "It's ok to mark it like that right?"
Ref: "Yes, but you can't leave it there."
Shane to Corey: "Thanks for telling me that, I didn't know."
Corey: "That's teamwork."
 
He was measuring the mirror system for corey on the rail first which shouldnt be allowed imo
 
I haven't seen any formal scotch doubles rules but not that I check that many rules either. I just try to keep it classy and we all know most rules anyway. It's the obscure rarely in effect rules that we get caught up on.

Not geared toward you (even though I quoted ya) but do all of you know how to measure one rail kick shots like SVB did there byt taking the distance from the OB to the rail and then extending beyond the rail to establish a kicking point?

Sometimes the distance is so much that measuring it and then picking a spot on a wall afterwards (to assist with the contact point of the rail) to get the right rail spot is required.

Sorry, just boggles me mind for anyone to think SVB wanted Corey to kick the 7 away and try to stop the CB right there. The degree of difficulty for that is much tougher.

Corey played the right shot with the intended result. I didn't hear what SVB said to Corey that made Corey say NO but asking him if he meant to make the ball isn't what I think Shane said. Maybe I'm wrong and my hearing just sucks but I think Corey meant to make the 7.


Gary

I'm thinking Shane asked Corey if he knew that he couldn't point to a shot on the table to a aim at. Cory shook his head no, and they laughed. Then he went for clarification from the referee...and the ref said something like "only coaching is allowed"

But definitely that was the measuring and aiming method for that kick. I have the accu stats dvd in finals of Derby against niels where Shane does the same thing.
 
Incorrect if using BCA rules.
1-3 f.
f. You may use your cue, held in your hand or not, to help align a shot. You
may use your cue and hands to measure angles and distances for bank
shots and kick shots. No other cues, bridges or equipment may be used.

I wouldn't play by their rules.

They do not do as much as they used to for players !!!

Every place I played (with champions) used the rule I speak of !
 
The contact point on the cushion that Shane pointed out was exactly the point to hit in order to pocket the 7 ball in the corner.
Here's Shane lining it up.

Aim.jpg
 
Here's Shane lining it up.

View attachment 365855

He then doubled that distance and brought it back and pointed to the edge of the diamond wood, of which when you aim at that point, it contacts the cushion and goes to where he first placed the tip of his cue.

Watch how he holds his finger on the point of the cue at the blue and then brings it straight back back. that's your aiming point to kick off the rail.

Note the cue tip on far side of seven ball. That's the destination for cue ball which would cut the seven to upper left pocket.
 
In which corner? It looked like the contact point that Shane picked wouldn't have pocketed the ball in the corner that Corey made it in, but it was for a stop shot on the cue ball.

I believe what he was doing was marking where Corey should aim if he were shooting straight through the rail, you'll notice where he shot was straight in line with shanes finger which obviously means he would hit the rail sooner than directly straight out from where he was pointing. When I was learning banking my "coach" also put his finger so that if I shot in line to it, I would be hitting the rail at the correct spot with the CB.
 
I'm thinking Shane asked Corey if he knew that he couldn't point to a shot on the table to a aim at. Cory shook his head no, and they laughed. Then he went for clarification from the referee...and the ref said something like "only coaching is allowed"

But definitely that was the measuring and aiming method for that kick. I have the accu stats dvd in finals of Derby against niels where Shane does the same thing.

I agree...

That shot was total offense!


Gary
 
Cardigan Kid and poolguppy: Of course, everyone knows the technique to kick the ball off the rail. But you guys must know that you don't always have to pocket the ball with that general technique - depending on the contact point you select before finding the mirror point, you might do something else.

If Shane wants Corey to send the center of the cue ball to the tip of his cue as shown in that picture, that would not pocket the 7. It looks like it's a stop shot.
 
He then doubled that distance and brought it back and pointed to the edge of the diamond wood, of which when you aim at that point, it contacts the cushion and goes to where he first placed the tip of his cue.

Watch how he holds his finger on the point of the cue at the blue and then brings it straight back back. that's your aiming point to kick off the rail.

Note the cue tip on far side of seven ball. That's the destination for cue ball which would cut the seven to upper left pocket.

What I don't get is he seems to be measuring from the back of the cushion rather than the nose. What am I missing?
 
I didn't hear it on the audio, but it's the same thought (isn't that illegal?) I had when I saw Shane measuring and pointing to the spot.

Maybe they're not playing by Wednesday Night League rules?
 
What I don't get is he seems to be measuring from the back of the cushion rather than the nose. What am I missing?

Look at his middle finger, it's at the spot on the edge of the rail, he then brings it back and keeps his finger on the spot to aim.
 
Cardigan Kid and poolguppy: Of course, everyone knows the technique to kick the ball off the rail. But you guys must know that you don't always have to pocket the ball with that general technique - depending on the contact point you select before finding the mirror point, you might do something else.

If Shane wants Corey to send the center of the cue ball to the tip of his cue as shown in that picture, that would not pocket the 7. It looks like it's a stop shot.

If he was measuring for a stop shot he would have the tip aiming over center seven ball, then it would come off rail and hit seven ball full. Instead he goes past the ball and aims far side, so his measurement at aiming spot makes the cue ball cut across the seven thus cutting it into the pocket.
 
In my mind I thought Corey was saying back away because they already used their extension for that rack and time was getting real low. He didn't want to shoot while Shane was still at the table which WOULD be a foul.
 
If he was measuring for a stop shot he would have the tip aiming over center seven ball, then it would come off rail and hit seven ball full. Instead he goes past the ball and aims far side, so his measurement at aiming spot makes the cue ball cut across the seven thus cutting it into the pocket.

One thing I'll give you, when Corey shot it he sure looked like he shot it at the speed and angle to make it. It just doesn't look like that's what Shane had in mind, so I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on that part of it.
 
I wouldn't play by their rules.

They do not do as much as they used to for players !!!

Every place I played (with champions) used the rule I speak of !

I don't think the pros play by their rules anyway. At our BCA regional I told the other team it was still my shot after I pushed out and they gave it back and the BCA ref said it was my partner's turn. The exact opposite they are doing here and in the world championship scotch event last fall.

JC
 
The shot was measured correctly and executed as designed,no question.Shane remaining at the table and providing the aiming point was improper and Corey knew this and waved him off.

Pointing to a landing zone seems to be ok as long as the player backs away before his partner shoots the shot.Two different situations.
 
Back
Top