Did I make the right ruling? Very odd.

Is there more to that rule someone can quote?

Because it kind of reads like they mean if the ball is held up, like in a almost full pocket situation with balls below preventing a ball from actually dropping in.


Agreeing with txstang1, if I was gambling I'd argue those are pocketed balls all day. Christ just think of the debate that would cause in a gambling situation, lol
 
Forgive me but that is not the case, such statement is very misleading...

Once more:

WPA Standarized Rules
DEFINITIONS:

8.3 Ball Pocketed (only the part which applies)
A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
........................................................................................
Regards

He said the ball is NOT resting on another ball, so this definition is inconclusive.
 
I found this rule..

World Standardized Rules states:

3.33 JAWED BALLS
If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball directly downward from its locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee’s assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred.
-----


according to this rule both the 10 and 14 are pocketed imo
 
If they were jammed equally, how would one decide which ball to pull & how would one replace the pulled ball & how would one test that ball?

It can & I would guess that it has gotten complicated at times. That is why from a fairness stand point I would prefer the rule to say, no pocket & leave them to be shot again.

Just my $0.02 that probably is not worth $0.02.

There is nothing complicated about it at all. You stand over the balls and look down. Would removing a ball make the other ball fall in the pocket? If YES, ball is pocketed. If NO, ball is not pocketed. It can't possibly get any simpler than that.

p.s.- You don't get to complain about the rules if you never bothered to even read them to start with.
 
I'm not looking to argue. I'm just expressing my opinion regarding the rules as written.

Of course, Sir.

I am always happy to advise on Rules as this is clearly my area of expertise as an EPBF Rules Instructor.


Mr. pooler,
Just for discussion purposes, do those two rules when considered together make total sense?

The way World Standarized Rules are formatted is to cover thoroughly all possibilities connected to particular topic / merit / action without going too much into describing too much of details.

If you consider the recent case of the Bonus Ball Rules :wink: - lenghty and not too concise :confused:- which does more damage than good :boring2:

The generalisation of World Rules may seem inappropriate at first but it actually covers all possibilities comprehensively.
The rest is proper interpretation, with grounds for it in black and white. That is why Pool needs skilled Referees and well experienced Rules Instructors to train Referees well.

It is worth checking firts some other Definition, just to have a clear view on how is the ball’s position determined:
8.13 Position of Balls
The position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface. A ball is said to be placed on a line or spot when its center is placed directly over that line or spot.

Now to the thread's disscussed case:
Let me cite the Rules again, for technical purposes I divide this Definition in parts, as follows (in red):

8.3 Ball Pocketed
(1.) A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system.
(2.) A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken.
(3.) An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball.
(4.) If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not.

The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.

From post #15
Those two(2) rules when considered together do not make total sense to me when fairness & skill are also considered.

With all respect, it is quite the contrary:

This Definition and its solutions cover all options:

Fairness - to all players, to everyone, everywhere, on any equipment...
Skill – should include comprehensive knowledge as to what could happen, how to foresee it and how to prevent it...

Analysis:

Part (1.) of Definition 8.3: Deals with obvious situation when the ball “is pocketed” (thus, colloquially speaking – disappears into the pocket).


In one the shooter 'pockets' a ball all the way to the back &/or bottom of the pocket but is hit hard enough & just 'right' so that the pocket design rejects the ball & it is considered not pocketed...
...On the other hand (...) but his failure to do so results in two balls jammed between the jaws

If there are special cases (as above or pocket nearly full, or full) we look for solutions further in:
Part (2.) of Definition 8.3: Notice that this also deals with the possible case in which the ball actually piles up on top of other balls already under condition of “pocketed” thus, coming to rest higher than the playing surface.
Further, as it is someone’s responsibility to actually clear pockets of balls and to cover the topic of balls jumping out of the pocket we have additional sentence:
Part (3.) of Definition to clear up other cases that would come.

Fair and square, to everyone, everywhere.

Also, please notice that:
Part (4.) of Definition deals exclusively with such instance regarding the cue ball - which has totally different determinants.

If I may add, off the record:

...his failure to do so results in two balls jammed between the jaws...

As to jammed balls:

Balls sometimes wobble when they enter the pocket (single ball or two balls).
Sometimes a skilled player uses the very narrow gap to squeeze another ball in.
Sometimes they both go in but sometimes just one, whilst the other one wobbles and goes out onto the playing surface.
Jammed balls is nothing else but the very action “frozen in the moment”.
Because the action stopped (part of the deal) you must deal with it somehow. Whether current solution is individually approved is argumentative.

But this is the solution most fitting the overall pattern of what would happen if they did not freeze. And it fits the previously described conduct.

That is why it was acknowledged as official, and applied to everyone, everywhere.


Pardon for the lengthy post, I consider it a part of my responsibilities not to leave any doubts in regards to correct application of the Rules .

Also, thanks for kind words everyone. :smile:

Regards,
 
Correction

World Standardized Rules states:
3.33 JAWED BALLS
If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball directly downward from its locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee’s assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred.

Such Rule does not officially exist anymore :eek: :eek: :eek: since the 1st of January 2008


Rule 3.33 Jawed Balls is more clear & appropriate.

For the above reason it cannot be considered as such. :cool:


There is nothing complicated about it at all. You stand over the balls and look down. Would removing a ball make the other ball fall in the pocket? If YES, ball is pocketed. If NO, ball is not pocketed. It can't possibly get any simpler than that.

Yes, Mr Neil :smile::wink::smile:, it is as simple as that. The correct wording is "would". Both balls must be judged as to their actual position and then repositioned accordingly to the visual judgement, either in or out.

Regards
 
Mr. pooler,

Thanks for taking the time & effort to explain the thought procees. I guess my thinking & opinion was based on the fact that I usually play where we not only call the pocket but the exact shot as well. An example would be that a shot called off of a ball resting in the jaws of the pocket, and the called ball double kisses & falls, the shot is not good & if called off of the ball & does hit the ball the shot is not good.

Thanks agan for taking the time.

Best Regards,
 
Question

Thanks for taking the time...

You are most welcome, any time...:smile:

Just one thing...

I do realize that some games are played according to house or individually agreed specification, calling detailed shots, of course.

Just one thing I do not get here:


An example would be that a shot called off of a ball resting in the jaws of the pocket, and the called ball double kisses & falls, the shot is not good & if called off of the ball & does hit the ball the shot is not good.
Neither of these shots is good - is that correct or is it just writing mistake???

Regards
 
Last edited:
You are most welcome, any time...:smile:

Just one thing...

I do realize that some games are played according to house or individually agreed specification, calling detailed shots, of course.

Just one thing I do not get here:



Neither of these shots is good - is that correct or is it just writing mistake???

Regards

Mr. pooler,

Sorry, a typo or I should say a 'braino'. If the shot is called off of the ball sitting in the jaws & does NOT hit it that shot also is not good.

Thanks for the requesting the clarification.

Best Regards,
 
Mr. pooler,

Sorry, a typo or I should say a 'braino'. If the shot is called off of the ball sitting in the jaws & does NOT hit it that shot also is not good.

Thanks for the requesting the clarification.

Best Regards,

Thank you, I was a bit confused, now it is crystal clear.

One more thing, I am relatively new at the Forum:

Is this "Mr" really necessary? It, kind of, makes me feel uneasy :wink:

Just "Pooler" would be fine :) and easier for all of us.

Hope I am not getting too "overfamiliar" ???:eek:

Best Regards
 
I have seen this with the eight ball and cue ball.

In a small eight ball tournament my wife encountered an impossible shot due to the tournament directors (incorrect) ruling on a similar situation.
Her opponent had lodged the eight and cue ball into the corner pocket much as they are pictured, but they were not visibly below the slate. Both players still had balls from their respective groups on the table. You could tell that both balls were suspended in space and not over the cloth. There was no way to shoot the cue ball without the eight dropping into the pocket. The ruling the director came up with was that it was my wife's shot and she had to shoot the cue ball. So she lost the game due to what amounted to her opponent scratching the eight. This was a long time ago and way before the internet. It led me to go buy the current(probably 1980) BCA rule book. To paraphrase what it said at that time was. "Any ball that is suspended in such a way that if you tap straight down on it, it would drop, goes in the pocket."
 
Thank you, I was a bit confused, now it is crystal clear.

One more thing, I am relatively new at the Forum:

Is this "Mr" really necessary? It, kind of, makes me feel uneasy :wink:

Just "Pooler" would be fine :) and easier for all of us.

Hope I am not getting too "overfamiliar" ???:eek:

Best Regards

pooler,

No problem. I just try to be respectful until invited to be more familiar & I'm newer than you. Mr. Naji just referred to me a Master Rick. I have not been called 'Master Richard' since my elementary grade school days many, many, moons ago. I immediately asked him to go back to just calling me Rick. Although that did bring back some very old memories.

Thanks again,
 
Last edited:
pooler,
No problem. I just try to be respectful until invited to be more familiar. Mr. Naji just referred to me a Master Rick. I have not been called 'Master Richard' since my elementary grade school days many, many, moons ago. I immediately asked him to go back to just calling me Rick. Although that did bring back some very old memories.Thanks again,

Thank You, Master Richard :wink:

I got my revenge now :wink:

I want to say that the respect is mutual and we could easy settle on easy, familiar terms.

All the best and Regards

Pooler
 
In a small eight ball tournament my wife encountered an impossible shot due to the tournament directors (incorrect) ruling on a similar situation.
Her opponent had lodged the eight and cue ball into the corner pocket much as they are pictured, but they were not visibly below the slate. Both players still had balls from their respective groups on the table. You could tell that both balls were suspended in space and not over the cloth. There was no way to shoot the cue ball without the eight dropping into the pocket. The ruling the director came up with was that it was my wife's shot and she had to shoot the cue ball. So she lost the game due to what amounted to her opponent scratching the eight. This was a long time ago and way before the internet. It led me to go buy the current(probably 1980) BCA rule book. To paraphrase what it said at that time was. "Any ball that is suspended in such a way that if you tap straight down on it, it would drop, goes in the pocket."

Well, Sir

An unfortunate situation with the person (the Tournament Director) who was not able to stand up to his task.

Regretfully, I must say that even nowadays, at the age of Internet, cheap mobile communication and easily available data there are still a lot of situations that Officials (Referees, Tournament Directors, etc.) have no clue what is truly their task.

These Individuals treat their entrusted in them duties to Pool with such carelessness, preferring to just have a good time, enjoy their drinks, etc., without even realizing that any mistake on their part, caused by their lack of knowledge (in a "job" that they do at the time) may result in great damage to others: players, spectators, image of sport...

These things have an enormously bad effect on an overall image of sport...

Good news is, there are also more and more of the professional and responsible ones appearing...

Best Regards
 
Last edited:
Yes, they are :confused::smile:

WPA Standarized Rules:

DEFINITIONS:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.

There is more in point 8.3 but it does not deal directly with this case.
Hope, this helps.

Regards

That's the official ruling. I'd like to see what the ruling would be in a bar. That would be interesting.
 
Should have cited the whole definition, just in case ...:grin:

WPA Standarized Rules
DEFINITIONS
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.

If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken.
An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
.........................................................................................................................................

Regards,
I don't get the part that I highlighted. According to these rules then if you shoot from the position in the photo and the cue ball hits any of the two balls "considered pocketed", so the cue ball would be considered "Pocketed" also and will result in a foul???
 
Back
Top