Foul / No Foul?

I would say it's not a foul. As others have mentioned he's shooting at only part of the 10 ball (maybe 1/2 to 1/4 a ball), and I believe a normal follow-through on that shot with the balls in that position could result in the cueball behaving exactly the way it did.

OTOH, if he had called the 2 ball and then shot the 10 ball...
 
I agree with Bob Jewett. Unless they were playing by the DCC rule that if you are elevated 45 deg or more it is never a foul, this was a FOUL. Period. Not even close. No need for instant reply.

But, since they called in a ref, his word is the law so no argument...even though he was wrong. :)
I agree with Bob and Dave (and others) on this one.

If the CB was not frozen to the 10, the shot was most definitely a foul. The CB goes forward way too much before drawing back. With the balls not frozen, this cannot happen without a double hit. You can even hear the double-hit ferrule-slapping sound in the video (although, audio alone is not appropriate evidence for calling a foul). With a clean hit on this shot, the CB would have come off the tangent line of the 10 into the 14, the 14 would have moved more, and the CB would have drawn back without going forward very much at all (if any).

Regardless, as others have pointed out, if the ref calls the shot good, play should continue without question.

If people want more info and demonstrations related to detecting and avoiding double-hit fouls, check out the double-hit foul resource page.

Fun thread,
Dave
 
Last edited:
Looked like a push

Keep in mind, a Push is different than a double hit.

The only thing that I saw was the cue ball did go past the tangent line, before the back spin took over.

I'm not the best Ref around, but I likely would have called a Foul on it, for that reason.

As Bob mentioned, and don't know if we are on the same page. If the balls were frozen, yes, you can shoot thru the ball, so to speak. You won't get a double hit from it.

So many people mistake a double hit for a push. Two completely different things.

Exactly. You won't see many shots that can actually be called a push. Not at that their level of playing. The odd time in Novice division League Play.

Somewhat the definition of a Push Shot, would be when the tip of your cue stays on the cue ball for a length of time after the shot, or more than need be. Therefore actually Pushing the cue ball with the tip. I did one last year that was so obvious. Just circumstances sometimes. Not paying attention on follow thru.
I called a Foul on myself because of it, as I said, it was so obvious to me that I did it. Then, had to explain to my opponent why I called a Foul.

Ok, I did watch it several times. If the ref didn't call it, then it was good. At the angle that we can see from the camera, the only thing that saved it was maybe the cue ball, and because of the angle that Shane shot it at, traveled also to the right, and not straight on. Still a bit difficult to see from the viewers angle.

I have heard players comment on certain shots that they thought were fouls or no fouls, but usually, they are sitting at a table further away and looking at the table from the level of where their chairs are, and not over top of the shot.
 
Last edited:
Maybe we're looking at a different shot? The shot I see, he isn't shooting directly at either ball. He's cutting the 10ball 1/4 ball or less. ...
It's hard to see the angle. It looks fuller to me. I think that if he were playing 1/4 ball into the 10, the 14 would have gone a lot farther to make the cue ball scoot that far forward towards the pocket. Also, the cue ball pulls pretty much straight back from the pocket which tells me he was probably shooting pretty much towards the pocket. I think the video is most consistent with a foul.
 
Back
Top