I'd like some experienced one pocket players to weigh in on this if possible. The rules that I've read and videos that I've seen sometimes seem to contradict one another on this one point. The situation is a frozen object ball and what determines a legal shot when playing the cueball directly into the frozen object ball.
I have had very good, respected players tell me that if an object ball is frozen, that you hit it first, you have to drive a ball to some other rail. I.e. having the cueball hit that same rail does NOT count as a legal stroke.
In the following diagram, there is pretty much universal agreement that shot A is a foul. What is not clear to me is if the other two shot are fouls. I've always thought that they were. In fact I know that I've heard commentators talk about the type of situation at the top of the table (with the dot cueball in this diagram) hinge upon one player getting the object ball to freeze to the cushion...and thereby forcing the other player to greatly alter the situation.
So, are all these shots fouls or is only shot A a foul?
I have had very good, respected players tell me that if an object ball is frozen, that you hit it first, you have to drive a ball to some other rail. I.e. having the cueball hit that same rail does NOT count as a legal stroke.
In the following diagram, there is pretty much universal agreement that shot A is a foul. What is not clear to me is if the other two shot are fouls. I've always thought that they were. In fact I know that I've heard commentators talk about the type of situation at the top of the table (with the dot cueball in this diagram) hinge upon one player getting the object ball to freeze to the cushion...and thereby forcing the other player to greatly alter the situation.
So, are all these shots fouls or is only shot A a foul?