i was lucky to be left with this shot...

mannydawg

Registered
what is the call here?

well i couldn't believe that the ball's didn't drop. what is the call here, are the balls considered pocketed or is it your opponents turn.
 

Attachments

  • lucky.jpg
    lucky.jpg
    90.3 KB · Views: 421
  • WTF.jpg
    WTF.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 418
Last edited:
a "well known" player had this happen to him a couple weeks ago here in san antonio...he was playin a local guy one pocket giving up a huge spot..he needed a lot of balls and his oppenent needed one(which was hangin in his hole!)..anyways he shot a combination and the two balls hung up like that and he got mad and broke down his cue and left the pool hall without payin off that game( which was $500)!!!
 
I wouldn't call you lucky if you were playing 8 ball. I would be pretty hard to win from that position.

Actually, I believe with the ruling, you already lost. If the removal of either balls causes the other to drop, then that ball is considered a pocketed ball.

Being that both are over the center of the ball, both would be considered pocketed.

The 9 going in at the same time as the 8 would be a loss....the 1 is still on the table, with the 8 in, it would be a loss. Either suit, you lost.
 
Actually, I believe with the ruling, you already lost. If the removal of either balls causes the other to drop, then that ball is considered a pocketed ball.

Being that both are over the center of the ball, both would be considered pocketed.

The 9 going in at the same time as the 8 would be a loss....the 1 is still on the table, with the 8 in, it would be a loss. Either suit, you lost.

Where'd you find that rule?
 
Improper Table Maintenence Is Fault

that pocket has been tailored disgracefully.
 
Last edited:
World Standardized rules

what? i believe you are wrong and the balls are considered on the playing surface because neither was pocketed. and its your opponents turn.

World Standardized Rules


3.33 JAWED BALLS
If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball directly downward from its locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee’s assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred.

If the center of the ball is over the edge of the bed, the ball is considered pocketed.
 
What are the chances.

This happend to me yesterday at a tourney, i was hooked and the 2 ball was touching the left point so i kicked one rail with high left it came to the right point made contact and stuck just like your pic, i thought wat a lucky roll what can he do to me here? so he just pushed the cue ball and forced the 2 ball in.

he ran out:D
 
I think the only way the ball is considered 'not legally pocketed' is if the ball goes into the pocket and returns back onto the table. If the balls are hanging over the pocket, it is considered 'pocketed'. It is the same in golf. Lip-outs happen all the time, but if for some reason the stick is still in the hole, the ball gets stuck in the hole, but nevertheless is still considered 'in'.
 
Back
Top