One-hole rule question

garczar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If your opponent fouls,he has no balls to spot and all the balls are in the kitchen, what is correct play? Does a ball spot or does incoming player have to kick at a ball? thanks for any help
 
I'm assuming you also mean you have ball in hand in the kitchen.
And if so, (I'm not completely sure about this but) I think you spot the ball closest to the head string.

May not be right but at least it seems fair. :smile:


Gary
 
If your opponent fouls,he has no balls to spot and all the balls are in the kitchen, what is correct play? Does a ball spot or does incoming player have to kick at a ball? thanks for any help

What kind of foul - did the cue ball go down on a scratch -



bill
 
It gets spotted

If your opponent fouls,he has no balls to spot and all the balls are in the kitchen, what is correct play? Does a ball spot or does incoming player have to kick at a ball? thanks for any help

You spot the ball nearest the Head string. I have seen guys stop the ball closest to the back rail, but that's not what the rules say, either way a ball gets spotted.
 
So ball closest to headstring goes on the foot spot, but does the fouler still owe one?

I think he does...?
 
Yes

So ball closest to headstring goes on the foot spot, but does the fouler still owe one?

I think he does...?

Yes he still owes one, the ball that got spotted was a neutral ball. It was spotted to prevent the incoming player from being forced to potentially foul or selling out the game by kicking down table.

Fouling player owes one, put up a coin.
 
Heres another question..i asked top guy in our area and others..i had few responses..not discrediting anyone.but here it is

Say you need (1) ball..you shoot it and it rattles deep in your pocket and sits there.....the other guy starts to shoot and he needs (4) balls...and while hes pocketing balls he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it after he made a ball...do you then win or does he continue shooting untill he misses, and after, he then spots your last ball back into the pocket where it was?
 
Last edited:
Heres another question..i asked top guy in our area and others..i had few responses..not discrediting anyone.but here it is

Say you need (1) ball..you shoot it and it rattles deep in your pocket and sits there.....the other guy starts to shoot and he needs (4) balls...and while hes pocketing balls he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it after he made a ball...do you then win or does he continue shooting untill he misses, and after, he then spots your last ball back into the pocket where it was?

That's a foul. He disturbed two balls. Balls are replaced and a ball spotted
 
Heres another question..i asked top guy in our area and others..i had few responses..not discrediting anyone.but here it is

Say you need (1) ball..you shoot it and it rattles deep in your pocket and sits there.....the other guy starts to shoot and he needs (4) balls...and while hes pocketing balls he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it after he made a ball...do you then win or does he continue shooting untill he misses, and after, he then spots your last ball back into the pocket where it was?

"he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it"

If by this you mean to say he shot a ball into your game ball and made it for you without fouling, the game is over, you win at that point. He does not continue shooting.

ONB
 
You better read that again.

He accidentally rolled a ball into your ball. I took that as moved that ball with his hand or something and it contacted another ball. That would be a foul. What am I missing?
The game is effectively over
 
Heres another question..i asked top guy in our area and others..i had few responses..not discrediting anyone.but here it is

Say you need (1) ball..you shoot it and it rattles deep in your pocket and sits there.....the other guy starts to shoot and he needs (4) balls...and while hes pocketing balls he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it after he made a ball...do you then win or does he continue shooting untill he misses, and after, he then spots your last ball back into the pocket where it was?

If by this you mean to say that he hit an object ball with his hand or cue and it pocketed your game ball, well, that's handled different ways depending on where you are.

Nowadays if you disturb two balls on the table it's a foul but in this case, since he made your game ball it stays down and you win.

There are only several acceptable methods of fouling on a player's game ball and having it come back up. This is not one of them.

ONB
 
Heres another question..i asked top guy in our area and others..i had few responses..not discrediting anyone.but here it is

Say you need (1) ball..you shoot it and it rattles deep in your pocket and sits there.....the other guy starts to shoot and he needs (4) balls...and while hes pocketing balls he accidently rolls a ball into your last ball and drops it after he made a ball...do you then win or does he continue shooting untill he misses, and after, he then spots your last ball back into the pocket where it was?
There are two ways to interpret what you said. Since you say "accidentally", we might think that he moved a ball with his hand and that ball hit the ball in the other player's pocket and that jawed ball went in. The second way to interpret it is that a ball set in motion as part of one of his normal shots hit the ball in the jaws of the pocket and that ball fell in.

In the first case, it depends on what rules you're playing by. Many people now play by the rule that if you move two balls not by a shot (by touching them with your hand, for example, usually called "accidentally"), then it is a foul. What to do with the pocketed ball is not clear. Some rules say that if the pocketed ball was the game winner, it remains pocketed.

In the second case, you can use this guideline for scoring at one pocket: after each shot you look at the current score. This includes any subtractions for fouls. If one of the players has enough points for a win, he wins and the game is over. If both players get to a winning score or more on the same shot, the player who shot that shot wins. The timing of when balls fall on a shot is ignored, so it's never a matter of which ball fell first.
 
Sorry..say hes running balls..no foul and he pockets a ball and either cue ball comes around or another object ball does and knocks in your last ball....no foul here..just him making another ball and knocking your ball in and he has another shot/ball to make
...this hasnt happened but it came up as a question if it did..and there were multiple answers..thanks for all info guys....just thought id bring it up here
 
Last edited:
Sorry..say hes running balls..no foul and he pockets a ball and either cue ball comes around or another object ball does and knocks in your last ball....no foul here..just him making another ball and knocking your ball in and he has another shot/ball to make
...this hasnt happened but it came up as a question if it did..and there were multiple answers..thanks for all info guys....just thought id bring it up here

In that case the game is over, you win. The ball he accidentally pocketed stays down unless he scratches on that shot, and since it stays down it's game over.

-Andrew
 
In the first case, it depends on what rules you're playing by. Many people now play by the rule that if you move two balls not by a shot (by touching them with your hand, for example, usually called "accidentally"), then it is a foul. What to do with the pocketed ball is not clear. Some rules say that if the pocketed ball was the game winner, it remains pocketed.

Hey Bob, a very simple rule I have always heard is "no one can score on a foul", which in your stated example would conflict. At that point would not the previously jawed ball, as well as the other ball made in the same stroke if there was one, as well as yet another penalty ball from the shooter who committed the foul, all 3 spotted?

This is how it is played out my way. Is this incorrect?
 
This covers the situation (from 1pocket.org.):

6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.






There are only a couple of acceptable methods of fouling on an opponent's game ball and having it come back up.

ONB
 
Back
Top