Opinions on this situation please....

3andstop

Focus
Silver Member
My friend and I were playing today, and the inner edge of the 15th ball, if you drew a perpendicular line straight down was clearly touching the line of the rack. It wasn't however inside the line.

Even with the line being thin this ball was just touching it.

What do you rule. Since the line is drawn around the outside of the rack it would clear the rack, but on the other hand it was clearly on the line.

Is the ball in or out? I won't say which I was arguing yet. :)

Something like this ...

CueTable Help

 
The Rack Line

If the break ball is touching the rack line, it is inside of the rack and gets spotted on the Head Spot.
Yes, there would be room to rack the balls, if we did not use a rack but in this case. You were using a rack & you got a rack line.
 
the entire line is outside the rack. If the ball doesn't interfere with the rack the ball must be out. I think the rule says the 15th ball must not interfere with the RACK, it doesn't say much about any lines that may be there.
steven.
just my humble opinion even though I am right.
 
Well the cat's out of the bag. I was playing "Driven". I believe if the ball is on the line at all it is in the rack, he on the other hand is obviously wrong thinking the ball is out of the rack if it is on the line. :nanner:
 
the entire line is outside the rack. If the ball doesn't interfere with the rack the ball must be out. I think the rule says the 15th ball must not interfere with the RACK, it doesn't say much about any lines that may be there.
steven.
just my humble opinion even though I am right.

The line is outside of the rack--- I agree. The line is on the table for visual "convenience" so you can tell what's in/out. If the 15th ball interferes with properly racking the ball, it's in. Otherwise, it's out.

So, if you push the rack up and the 15th ball doesn't move--- it's out--- regardless where the line is.
 
The line is outside of the rack--- I agree. The line is on the table for visual "convenience" so you can tell what's in/out. If the 15th ball interferes with properly racking the ball, it's in. Otherwise, it's out.

So, if you push the rack up and the 15th ball doesn't move--- it's out--- regardless where the line is.

IMHO that is the correct rule in my book !!!!

-Steve
 
Keep in mind that for all intents and purposes, the rack line is there to simulate the rack. This rack was a wooden rack, perhaps a 1/4 inch thick.

But, regardless, if a naked women streaker were to run by your table, steal your rack and replace it with a rack that is only 1/8th inch thick, the line is the line on the table and if a ball touches it, it's in. :shrug: :)

Besides, the luxury of pushing the rack up with a new full set of balls is not always an option. Sometimes you gotta know while there are still balls on the table in order to plan your sequence. The call has to be made based on that line.
 
Last edited:
Out or In

If the line was drawn using the rack you were using, and the 15th ball was just touching the line, but not over it; it sounds like the 15th ball wasn't in. Deductive reasoning - line drawn OUTSIDE rack, ball touching line but not inside it, ball must be out of the rack. That's my opinion.

Ron F
 
Opinion.....

If the line was drawn using the rack you were using, and the 15th ball was just touching the line, but not over it; it sounds like the 15th ball wasn't in. Deductive reasoning - line drawn OUTSIDE rack, ball touching line but not inside it, ball must be out of the rack. That's my opinion.

Ron F


If the ball is touching the line, then the rack would come to rest on the ball.
That would be interference and the ball would in considered in the rack.
 
Hmmm...

If the ball is touching the line, then the rack would come to rest on the ball.
That would be interference and the ball would in considered in the rack.

You're standing on a sidewalk outside of a building. Are you in the building yet?
 
Lol.........

You're standing on a sidewalk outside of a building. Are you in the building yet?


There is a saying here on AZ "I'll take a Sascha"

Ron.....LOL....from now on when a ball is on the line. I will say: "I'll take a Ron"...... LOL
 
the entire line is outside the rack. If the ball doesn't interfere with the rack the ball must be out. I think the rule says the 15th ball must not interfere with the RACK, it doesn't say much about any lines that may be there.
steven.
just my humble opinion even though I am right.

This is what I think. It is the racking and not the line that controls.

JMHO.
 
You're standing on a sidewalk outside of a building. Are you in the building yet?
Haha

from BCA:
If the 15th ball of a rack interferes with the triangle being lowered straight down into position for racking.

just get a guy with steady hands to remove the rack.
 
the entire line is outside the rack. If the ball doesn't interfere with the rack the ball must be out. I think the rule says the 15th ball must not interfere with the RACK, it doesn't say much about any lines that may be there.
steven.
just my humble opinion even though I am right.
^^This. The standardized rules define it as "in the rack". Interference with the rack is the determining factor...not some arbitrary line someone placed on the table.
 
?

This is what I think. It is the racking and not the line that controls.

JMHO.


Then players that do not think that the line has any control of the rack, should not draw lines on their tables.
"Controlling the rack" I guess a player can always rack the balls a little crook-it to avoid the break ball on a line.
 
There is a saying here on AZ "I'll take a Sascha"

Ron.....LOL....from now on when a ball is on the line. I will say: "I'll take a Ron"...... LOL

The line is drawn on the table and outside the rack for a reason. If you apply logic, a ball not over the line cannot be in the rack - unless, of course an unscrupulous racker wants it to be. We're talking millimeters here. When a ball is that close to the rack it can easily be steered in either direction by whoever is racking. In my opinion that's why the line is there. To keep it on the level for the racker and the shooter. The line tells both players where exactly the rack should be placed when racking the balls. If the ball is over the line it's in, if it's not it's not in. I guess if it's on or near the line and you rack the balls high making it appear to be in the rack, that should be called pulling a 14-1StraightMan? The Sascha comparison was so uncool, man.

Ron F
 
Then players that do not think that the line has any control of the rack, should not draw lines on their tables.
"Controlling the rack" I guess a player can always rack the balls a little crook-it to avoid the break ball on a line.

I think it is a reference point, so I would draw it on the table to help me see where the rack would go. Just because it may not control, does not mean it should not be drawn, in my opinion.


I guess someone could cheat and not rack correctly but what exactly does that have to do with what we are discussing?!?:confused:
 
I think it is a reference point, so I would draw it on the table to help me see where the rack would go. Just because it may not control, does not mean it should not be drawn, in my opinion.


I guess someone could cheat and not rack correctly but what exactly does that have to do with what we are discussing?!?:confused:

I agree, the outline is just a reference point, and if the ball is that close good luck with the steady hands trying not to disturb it !!!

-Steve
 
Here We Go

The line is drawn on the table and outside the rack for a reason. If you apply logic, a ball not over the line cannot be in the rack - unless, of course an unscrupulous racker wants it to be. We're talking millimeters here. When a ball is that close to the rack it can easily be steered in either direction by whoever is racking. In my opinion that's why the line is there. To keep it on the level for the racker and the shooter. The line tells both players where exactly the rack should be placed when racking the balls. If the ball is over the line it's in, if it's not it's not in. I guess if it's on or near the line and you rack the balls high making it appear to be in the rack, that should be called pulling a 14-1StraightMan? The Sascha comparison was so uncool, man.

Ron F


I did not mean to make you mad. I was joking around but I see that it offended you. I was in no way comparing you to Sascha. I don't think it read that way. I apologize that you took it that way. I will watch how I write sentences from now on & for joking around. On the other hand, when I am standing outside a building next time. I will check to see if I am inside or outside.

I do know if we were playing in a tournament and the break ball was on the rack line. We would have one heck of an disagreement.

In Baseball. When a ball hits the Foul Line is it Fair or Foul? It is Fair. Any part of the Foul line is inside the Field thus Inside the rack.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top