During the 8 ball Us open match between SVB vs. Ko there was a bit of an incident using the Magic Rack moving a ball.
I'm not positive exactly which rack it was. It was before the score became tied at 4-4, but cant recall the exact game.
What happened was that SVB was up to break. Ken, and Scott Frost were in the booth doing commentary. Shane had a good break for a pretty routine out with the exception of the 8 ball. It seemed as if it hadn't moved during the break, and another ball ended up pretty close to frozen underneath it. (From standing behind the rack) SVB was walking around the table checking things out. As SVB was thinking ken made a statement that he "didn't believe the 8 ball would go anywhere." Frost then replied "I know it wont go anywhere." Ken stated "I cant argue with that then" in a laughing voice. Frost then made a comment that the 8 ball wouldn't go unless you moved it free while trying to remove the Magic Rack, as a joke. (Those were the only two balls still around the rack, and they were in the center of it. Not too much of a problem.
Within a second or two of Frost comment SVB ended up moving the 8 ball while removing the Magic Rack. Scott said instantly that Shane moved the ball about a half inch, and the 8 ball now has a pocket. Ken also stated he saw the ball move. Frost commented that Ko must not have seen SVB move the ball. Ken stated that he might have seen it and been too much of a sportsman to say anything. SVB did nothing, and said nothing. Maybe he didn't notice it move though he was paying close attention seemingly trying "not" to touch the balls. He proceeded to shoot and pretty easily run out.
Ken and Frost spent the rest of the rack pretty much talking about how much easier the run out is now with the 8 ball moved.
Now my question is this. What duty does a ref have if he sees a player move a ball "accidently?" I understand that the 8 ball tourney is cue ball fouls only, so I understand its not a foul. Usually the other players puts the ball back and so on. It just seems odd to me that Ken in other situation's, jumps out of the booth to "correct" other rules violations, but cant do anything about something like that. He jumped out of the booth to correct Corey's racking in a prior match. I also heard he was the one that called Dennis for trying that practice jump shot on another table. It just seems odd to me a ref can approach a player about breaking a rule like that, but he can witness another player move a ball and do nothing.
It very well may be that no one did anything wrong, but with more and more events using magic racks I could see this happening. It just seems like there should be some rules in the books that will let a ref who sees something occur do something about it.
PS I believe the rack occurred before the score went 4-4 only because I believe frost left the commentary at that time.
I'm not positive exactly which rack it was. It was before the score became tied at 4-4, but cant recall the exact game.
What happened was that SVB was up to break. Ken, and Scott Frost were in the booth doing commentary. Shane had a good break for a pretty routine out with the exception of the 8 ball. It seemed as if it hadn't moved during the break, and another ball ended up pretty close to frozen underneath it. (From standing behind the rack) SVB was walking around the table checking things out. As SVB was thinking ken made a statement that he "didn't believe the 8 ball would go anywhere." Frost then replied "I know it wont go anywhere." Ken stated "I cant argue with that then" in a laughing voice. Frost then made a comment that the 8 ball wouldn't go unless you moved it free while trying to remove the Magic Rack, as a joke. (Those were the only two balls still around the rack, and they were in the center of it. Not too much of a problem.
Within a second or two of Frost comment SVB ended up moving the 8 ball while removing the Magic Rack. Scott said instantly that Shane moved the ball about a half inch, and the 8 ball now has a pocket. Ken also stated he saw the ball move. Frost commented that Ko must not have seen SVB move the ball. Ken stated that he might have seen it and been too much of a sportsman to say anything. SVB did nothing, and said nothing. Maybe he didn't notice it move though he was paying close attention seemingly trying "not" to touch the balls. He proceeded to shoot and pretty easily run out.
Ken and Frost spent the rest of the rack pretty much talking about how much easier the run out is now with the 8 ball moved.
Now my question is this. What duty does a ref have if he sees a player move a ball "accidently?" I understand that the 8 ball tourney is cue ball fouls only, so I understand its not a foul. Usually the other players puts the ball back and so on. It just seems odd to me that Ken in other situation's, jumps out of the booth to "correct" other rules violations, but cant do anything about something like that. He jumped out of the booth to correct Corey's racking in a prior match. I also heard he was the one that called Dennis for trying that practice jump shot on another table. It just seems odd to me a ref can approach a player about breaking a rule like that, but he can witness another player move a ball and do nothing.
It very well may be that no one did anything wrong, but with more and more events using magic racks I could see this happening. It just seems like there should be some rules in the books that will let a ref who sees something occur do something about it.
PS I believe the rack occurred before the score went 4-4 only because I believe frost left the commentary at that time.