Re-rack all 15 balls?

Thanks for the clarification Bob,

What if the ref disturbs the balls when trying to place the 15th ball on the spot? Can the incoming player request a re-rack? Players have the right to expect a tight and fair rack.

Refs are suppose to ensure a fair rack of 14 balls.
If the shooter calls 'safe' on the 15th ball, the 15th ball should be spotted on the apex of the 14 ball rack.

I was taught to use a ball from the 14 balls (from the wing spot of the back row) to place it on the top or apex of the 14 ball rack to ensure a tight and legal rack, remove the ball once the rack is positioned, and while holding the balls in place, replace the ball in the wing position. This was done just in case of this situation. The 15th ball should easily be placed into the top or apex of the rack without disturbing the remaining 14 balls.

A good 14.1 ref is there to make sure the game is played within the rules and also make sure all that are competing have an equal playing field according to the rules.

When a re-rack option was still an 'accepted practice' I don't think it would be that much of an advantage to either player.

But, when you take away the option and make it a rule that the 15th ball has got to be spotted at the apex or behind the rack, I really think that is taking it a little too far


Bob Jewett said:
I failed to mention it, but for the purposes of the WSR, you should assume that the referee is racking. This is not supposed to be viewed from the point of one player screwing up the rack and then having to live with it, or taking some advantage from racking. The latter would be unsportsmanlike conduct, if detected.

The real question is which rule is fairest?
 
Bob Jewett said:
I failed to mention it, but for the purposes of the WSR, you should assume that the referee is racking. This is not supposed to be viewed from the point of one player screwing up the rack and then having to live with it, or taking some advantage from racking. The latter would be unsportsmanlike conduct, if detected.

The real question is which rule is fairest?


Then I believe that it would be at the referee's discretion... if he feels that the balls need to be re-racked, then he should do so, correcting himself.

For a long time I have wondered why the rack area is not marked appropriately as a guide to avoid situations such as this. Has that ever been brought up by the rules committee?
 
Blackjack said:
... For a long time I have wondered why the rack area is not marked appropriately as a guide to avoid situations such as this. Has that ever been brought up by the rules committee?
It is not marked appropriately when the officials have failed to do their jobs. The rules require the outline of the triangle to be drawn, the long string to be drawn between the foot spot and the foot rail, the head string to be drawn, the head spot, center spot and foot spot to be marked.
 
Actually, the rack outline is more a guide for sighting the break ball being shootable than it is for being able to replace the 15th ball. I know it seems the same, but in play it makes a difference and would not guarantee that replacing the ball would be tight or exact.

I still think the best way, and good compromise, without re-adjusting the balls is simply to use an extra ball (maybe a special striped referee ball) initially when racked, and then roll it away. Then rolling back the object ball, if needed, guarantees it falls in the same spot.

If it doesn't fall in the same spot, then its an indication the balls were jarred some by the shot or by the player leaning on the table, and that further establishes that they shouldn't be re-racked by hand.
 
After reading this thread, I agree with 3andstop. He really put it nicely. Using an extra ball just seems like the most elegant solution, and it maintains the tradition of racking only one time. I've done it, but it still doesn't feel entirely right bringing the rack back in after balls have been struck. I don't think it's unreasonable for tournament play to have an extra ball handy, especially if there are referees.

Of course, Tom in Cincy mentioned the case of the referee disturbing the rack while placing the ball. In the case of balls being disturbed, isn't the rule that you place the balls back as close to their original positions as possible? And it doesn't specify that you must do that by hand, does it? If not, it seems like reracking would be the most obvious method for the referee to replace the balls "as close as possible to their original positions." Kind of a convenient loophole perhaps?
 
I'm still up in the air as to why anyone would want the rerack.

Correcting an earlier racking mistake doesn't make sense, it was fine and acceptible one shot ago, who's going to do a mental 180 and decide it's not just 1 shot later?

Or is the concern that someone cannot carefully place the apex ball without making some insignificant, miniscule disturbance of the rest of the rack? Or maybe they feel that the slight vibration of the air molecules during the safe/botched break shot has altered the rack?

I wouldn't complain about reracking, but really, what's the edge anyone can get? If there's a divot in the table and it creates that airhole willie was talking about, you can chalk that up to the imperfections of equipment, which we all agree to when we sign up for a game.
 
Safety play

If I paly a safe and leave the cue below the head spot just off center and closer to the back rail the better one of the only options is a 2 rail safe off the side rail to the back rail and skim the side of the pack bringing the cue back to the bottom rail. This is not a option if the rack is in the wrong place.
If I were coming to the table I would ask for a rerack and this used to be allowed at the shooters option.
Nick :)
 
3andstop said:
I suggest (and its good business for Aramith to boot) to create a special referee ball so that when the rack is reracked, the referee takes the special ball, and racks a full 15 with it. Then removes it and allows play.

If after that, the safety ball doesn't spot properly, it means vibration moved something and it has to go on the line behind the rack as it would otherwise.

I like this idea.
 
Back
Top