I experienced two experiences I would like to share.
1. The new rule about calling banks or combination shots clearly states that the shot must be called, whether or not the opponent has any doubt about the shot. I had a match in which my opponent did not call the combination shot, and I stepped up to the table to take my turn. He said it was obvious, and I pointed out the new rule. We called the ref over and he told the ref he gestured toward the pocket. The new rule does not include any text about a motion or gesture. The ref ruled that my opponents gesture was enough. This interpretation did not seem correct to me.
2. Later in the same match, we were hill-hill. Our guy broke and scratched on the break. The opponent put the cueball way down by the foot spot and began to line up his shot. His teammates gestured and called out "behind the head string" which is blatant coaching.
The same ref ruled that the opponent would receive a warning. Our captain protested and called in the chief ref, and the game was suspended. After about 20 minutes, the chief ref ruled that our player should rebreak, instead of getting ball in hand.
Are these interpretations common?
Any insight would be appreciated.
1. The new rule about calling banks or combination shots clearly states that the shot must be called, whether or not the opponent has any doubt about the shot. I had a match in which my opponent did not call the combination shot, and I stepped up to the table to take my turn. He said it was obvious, and I pointed out the new rule. We called the ref over and he told the ref he gestured toward the pocket. The new rule does not include any text about a motion or gesture. The ref ruled that my opponents gesture was enough. This interpretation did not seem correct to me.
2. Later in the same match, we were hill-hill. Our guy broke and scratched on the break. The opponent put the cueball way down by the foot spot and began to line up his shot. His teammates gestured and called out "behind the head string" which is blatant coaching.
The same ref ruled that the opponent would receive a warning. Our captain protested and called in the chief ref, and the game was suspended. After about 20 minutes, the chief ref ruled that our player should rebreak, instead of getting ball in hand.
Are these interpretations common?
Any insight would be appreciated.
Last edited: