Rule Question

Wags

2 pocket-one pocket table
Silver Member
Many many years back I believe that there was a rule that when an object ball broke the plane of the rail it was counted as a good hit.

Let's say you soft hit a ball and it stopped in the jaws of the pocket but didn't go in. I distictly remember that because if it broke the rail plane it was counted as hitting a rail.

For you rules experts out there, was there such a rule or am I in dream land again.

If there was, why was it changed? I think breaking the plane is a good rule. What do you think?
 
Nope, I don't remember it. As long as I can remember it's been contact a cushion or drop into a pocket. I've played 20 years, so it could be from before that.
 
Many many years back I believe that there was a rule that when an object ball broke the plane of the rail it was counted as a good hit.

Let's say you soft hit a ball and it stopped in the jaws of the pocket but didn't go in. I distictly remember that because if it broke the rail plane it was counted as hitting a rail.

For you rules experts out there, was there such a rule or am I in dream land again.

If there was, why was it changed? I think breaking the plane is a good rule. What do you think?
I've read many sets of rules going back to the 1600s. I don't recall any set that gave credit for hitting a rail when it was just within the pocket as opposed to actually hitting the rail. Perhaps this rule was one of Old Ned's down at the Dew Drop Inn?

I think breaking the plane is a lousy rule.
 
Many many years back I believe that there was a rule that when an object ball broke the plane of the rail it was counted as a good hit.

Let's say you soft hit a ball and it stopped in the jaws of the pocket but didn't go in. I distictly remember that because if it broke the rail plane it was counted as hitting a rail.

For you rules experts out there, was there such a rule or am I in dream land again.

If there was, why was it changed? I think breaking the plane is a good rule. What do you think?

Dreamland. I also think it would have been a bad rule.

Dale
 
been playing over 35 years & never heard of that rule.

If it was a rule, would a ball in the jaws of the pocket be considered frozen to the rail?

SLIM
 
The thing I thougt of after reading your post was about "lagging"

"if the lagged ball ends up in the jaws it is considered a scratch" (crossed the plane of the rail)
 
Ned

I've read many sets of rules going back to the 1600s. I don't recall any set that gave credit for hitting a rail when it was just within the pocket as opposed to actually hitting the rail. Perhaps this rule was one of Old Ned's down at the Dew Drop Inn?

I think breaking the plane is a lousy rule.

Probably correct. That Ned was always trying to hornswoggle somebody. Of course, he is no longer with us. He was out one day shootin' at some food and up from the ground came a bubblin' crude...Oh wait...that was his brother Jed.

Thanks for the responses.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top