Rule Question

WPBA rules:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.

edit: that took all of 30 seconds to find.;)
 
OMG... It was all in fun playing people & decided it would make for an interesting question thats all. Not designed to cheat. & we tried to find an answer after. Jesus people. Do u all treat people like garbage when someone tries to ask a question?
Just thought people here might be able to give a specific answer but get bashing instead. Really?
How many of you knew the correct written/rulebook answer? Idk. But only seemed like one person.
I'd bet it this came up during a trny that someone would need an official ruling. Would any of u like getting bashed for asking any question?

Remember - this was just a question looking for an official rule we couldnt find.
And since it has been provided im done here thankfully
 
OMG... It was all in fun playing people & decided it would make for an interesting question thats all. Not designed to cheat. & we tried to find an answer after. Jesus people. Do u all treat people like garbage when someone tries to ask a question?
Just thought people here might be able to give a specific answer but get bashing instead. Really?
How many of you knew the correct written/rulebook answer? Idk. But only seemed like one person.
I'd bet it this came up during a trny that someone would need an official ruling. Would any of u like getting bashed for asking any question?

Remember - this was just a question looking for an official rule we couldnt find.
And since it has been provided im done here thankfully

Yeah, we're like the Alamo Drafthouse of forums.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1L3eeC2lJZs
 
OMG... It was all in fun playing people & decided it would make for an interesting question thats all. Not designed to cheat. & we tried to find an answer after. Jesus people. Do u all treat people like garbage when someone tries to ask a question?
Just thought people here might be able to give a specific answer but get bashing instead. Really?
How many of you knew the correct written/rulebook answer? Idk. But only seemed like one person.
I'd bet it this came up during a trny that someone would need an official ruling. Would any of u like getting bashed for asking any question?

Remember - this was just a question looking for an official rule we couldnt find.
And since it has been provided im done here thankfully
You're lots of fun.

You should post more.
 
Thx. I am lots of fun. YW.
& 4 ... "BANKS" im not full of it. U dont know me. But your tag line - under all comments give us a big idea on you.... LMFAO!
Thx again folks!
This was sure interesting
 
WPBA rules:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.

edit: that took all of 30 seconds to find.;)


In case you didn't see it, Neil got it from the rules for ya.
 
OMG... It was all in fun playing people & decided it would make for an interesting question thats all. Not designed to cheat. & we tried to find an answer after. Jesus people. Do u all treat people like garbage when someone tries to ask a question?
Just thought people here might be able to give a specific answer but get bashing instead. Really?
How many of you knew the correct written/rulebook answer? Idk. But only seemed like one person.
I'd bet it this came up during a trny that someone would need an official ruling. Would any of u like getting bashed for asking any question?

Remember - this was just a question looking for an official rule we couldnt find.
And since it has been provided im done here thankfully

You did not get "bashed" for asking the question, but rather for saying you stacked balls in a pocket to cheat.

Like asking "so is it OK to beat up on little kids, cause I only did it a few times when they were really bratty and only till they bled a little".
 
Last edited:
WPBA rules:
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.

edit: that took all of 30 seconds to find.;)

I always wondered about this scenario -- What if you hit an object ball into the pocket (let's say using a hard stop shot, where the cue ball stops right by the pocket), it hits another ball in the pocket and pops out of the pocket but hits the cueball and drops back down into the pocket.

This actually happened to me once and I could not figure out what the rule was. My opponent stated that because the cueball made contact with what ended up being a pocketed object ball, it should of been a scratch. My point was that when the object ball came back on table it wasn't yet considered a pocketed ball because it had not come to rest.

I argued that it wasn't a scratch using that rule and he eventually let me continue shooting. Of course, I had stopped the cue near the pocket for a reason and the bouncing object ball pushed the cue ball so far out of position that I missed the next shot anyways!
 
I always wondered about this scenario -- What if you hit an object ball into the pocket (let's say using a hard stop shot, where the cue ball stops right by the pocket), it hits another ball in the pocket and pops out of the pocket but hits the cueball and drops back down into the pocket.

This actually happened to me once and I could not figure out what the rule was. My opponent stated that because the cueball made contact with what ended up being a pocketed object ball, it should of been a scratch. My point was that when the object ball came back on table it wasn't yet considered a pocketed ball because it had not come to rest.

I argued that it wasn't a scratch using that rule and he eventually let me continue shooting. Of course, I had stopped the cue near the pocket for a reason and the bouncing object ball pushed the cue ball so far out of position that I missed the next shot anyways!


Now that's a damn good question. Technically the ball is not pocketed until it comes to rest at the bottom of the pocket. So...I would agree it was still ok for the cue ball to double hit it.
 
I always wondered about this scenario -- What if you hit an object ball into the pocket (let's say using a hard stop shot, where the cue ball stops right by the pocket), it hits another ball in the pocket and pops out of the pocket but hits the cueball and drops back down into the pocket.

This actually happened to me once and I could not figure out what the rule was. My opponent stated that because the cueball made contact with what ended up being a pocketed object ball, it should of been a scratch. My point was that when the object ball came back on table it wasn't yet considered a pocketed ball because it had not come to rest.

I argued that it wasn't a scratch using that rule and he eventually let me continue shooting. Of course, I had stopped the cue near the pocket for a reason and the bouncing object ball pushed the cue ball so far out of position that I missed the next shot anyways!

That is an interesting scenario, but in this case I would have to call it a pocketed ball, no foul, no loss of turn. It bounced out of the pocket, then hit the cueball an went back in, without any interference from the player. Sounds like a pocketed ball.
 
If the cueball hits a filled pocket, it counts as a scratch. Although I don't think I have ever seen either happen in a real game. And I've sure as hell have never see anyone moving balls to fill a pocket on purpose before. Only time I have seen this is when someone is practacing and did not bother to clear the pocket, usually it's very young kids or total newbies to pool.

I don't know if this specific example is in a rule book, I know that if an object ball happens to hit a ball and bounce out it does not count as pocketed, but we have to think of what judgement a ref would use if this was done during a real match like in the US Open. I am 99% sure that a ref could call a scratch in this case, and if you moved balls around to fill a pocket you'd get a warning at least for conduct.

If a cue ball hits a pocket and pops back on the table........... it is not a scratch.

Kim
 
If a cue ball hits a pocket and pops back on the table........... it is not a scratch.

Kim


Correct, assuming it does not touch a ball that is in that pocket.

If the cue ball leaves the playing surface and touches anything, other than the rail, and returns to the playing surface, it is a foul.
 
If a cue ball hits a pocket and pops back on the table........... it is not a scratch.

Kim

If it ONLY hits the pocket though, like going into the back of the pocket and around, not when it hits a "filled pocket" where there is a mountain of balls hehe.
 
OMG... It was all in fun playing people & decided it would make for an interesting question thats all. Not designed to cheat. & we tried to find an answer after. Jesus people. Do u all treat people like garbage when someone tries to ask a question?
Just thought people here might be able to give a specific answer but get bashing instead. Really?
How many of you knew the correct written/rulebook answer? Idk. But only seemed like one person.
I'd bet it this came up during a trny that someone would need an official ruling. Would any of u like getting bashed for asking any question?

Remember - this was just a question looking for an official rule we couldnt find.
And since it has been provided im done here thankfully


Nobody is treating you like garbage for asking the question. People are treating you like garbage because you stacked the pocket to win money (by your own admission).

It is really that hard to understand? I might suggest making some edits to your original post if you don't want people to think you are a complete dbag.
 
Last edited:
I always wondered about this scenario -- What if you hit an object ball into the pocket (let's say using a hard stop shot, where the cue ball stops right by the pocket), it hits another ball in the pocket and pops out of the pocket but hits the cueball and drops back down into the pocket.

This actually happened to me once and I could not figure out what the rule was. My opponent stated that because the cueball made contact with what ended up being a pocketed object ball, it should of been a scratch. My point was that when the object ball came back on table it wasn't yet considered a pocketed ball because it had not come to rest.

I argued that it wasn't a scratch using that rule and he eventually let me continue shooting. Of course, I had stopped the cue near the pocket for a reason and the bouncing object ball pushed the cue ball so far out of position that I missed the next shot anyways!

Come on PaulieB. Read the sentence right before the part I highlighted in red in my previous post. That answers your question.
 
I don't know if this specific example is in a rule book, I know that if an object ball happens to hit a ball and bounce out it does not count as pocketed, but we have to think of what judgement a ref would use if this was done during a real match like in the US Open.


What happens if an earthquake hits during the middle of a tournament and moves the balls just enough to give or deny someone a shot that did or didn't exist before the table started shaking? What happens if someone in the gallery cuts the biggest fart the world has ever known and blows the balls out of position? What happens if a guy with psychic powers scrunches down into a tight ball of quivering concentration and wishes the balls out or into position? Is that allowed? We must prepare for all eventualities. Rules. Rules. Rules. We need more rules.

TJ
 
Are you kidding? You admit to doing this yourself and wonder why you're getting shit for posting that??

Ok, forget pool pool, lets consider the gene pool, there's potential trouble in River City there as well.
 
Back
Top