Just read the rules.
Under VNEA rules it would be a legal determination of solids/stripes and a discontinuation of turn. See
their rules:
C. ...The table is “open” when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has not yet been determined. When the table is open, it is legal to hit a solid first to make a stripe or vice versa.
Note: The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. On an open table, all pocketed balls remain pocketed. The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups. THE TABLE IS ALWAYS OPEN IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE BREAK SHOT.
The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.
E. ...2.
Each player continues to shoot so long as he legally pockets any of his object balls (Exception: calling a safety).
G. ... “
SAFETY” SHOT: For tactical reasons
a player may choose to pocket an obvious object ball and also discontinue his turn at the table by declaring “safety” in advance.
A safety shot is defined as a legal shot. If the shooting player intends to play safe by pocketing an obvious object ball, then prior to the shot, he must declare a “safety” to his opponent. If this is NOT done, and one of the shooter’s object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again. Any ball pocketed on a safety shot remains pocketed.
H. FOULING. All fouls must be called and acknowledged before next shot is taken. (exception: scratching) The following results in fouls:
1. Failure to make a legal shot as noted above..
Also, DURING the game you can clearly call safe and pocket a ball. So why should the first shot after the break be different? Makes no sense if it doesn't apply during the whole game. Only in 9-ball do you HAVE to keep shooting if you pocket a ball.
-td