Situation - You Make the Call

Well, no, that is not anything like the OP's shot. I posted an exact CSI/BCAPL interpretation for his shot above.

Your quote refers to pocketing an obvious ball. The OP's shot was not obvious according to CSI/BCAPL rules.

Point was he was claiming it was a safety after the fact. If his ball goes in, it was a legal shot and he keeps shooting, right?
 
My opinion is that anything that's a bank, kick, or combo isn't an obvious shot.
 
Point was he was claiming it was a safety after the fact. If his ball goes in, it was a legal shot and he keeps shooting, right?
No. BCAPL 8-ball rules are call shot. The CSI/BCAPL rules have a long discussion on what is obvious and what needs to be called. A link to those rules is above. There are also lots of example applications of the rules, such as for what appears to be the exact shot that the OP is talking about.
 
Last edited:
You guys call this a combination? If unannouced, I call it pocketing two balls on one shot, intentional or otherwise.

Here's what I read in the BCA rules:

13. SAFETY SHOT. For tactical reasons a player may choose to pocket an obvious object ball and also discontinue his turn at the table by declaring safety in advance. A safety shot is defined as a legal shot. If the shooting player intends to play safe by pocketing an obvious object ball, then prior to the shot, he must declare a safety to his opponent. If this is NOT done, and one of the shooter's object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again. Any ball pocketed on a safety shot remains pocketed.


I think this rule is clear in this case.

That means pocketing his own ball on a clear path to the pocket.

What occurred here is essentially a carom shot which is specifically never considered an obvious shot.

The only way it's the shooters turn to shoot again is if he calls his ball in that blocked pocket prior to shooting. Every other possibility of him calling safe or remaining silent or whistling Dixie during his stroke has the same result. It's his opponent's shot.

You guys can argue this until you're blue in the face but I just told it how it is.

Case closed.
 
Last edited:
No. BCAPL 8-ball rules are call shot. The CSI/BCAPL rules have a long discussion on what is obvious and what needs to be called. A link to those rules is above. There are also lots of example applications of the rules, such as for what appears to be the exact shot that the OP is talking about.

I didn't realize they were call shot games. I like that idea LOL! We don't have BCA around here unfortunately.
 
Last edited:
As someone above mentioned,...........

"no bank, kick, carom, combo or jump shot "should" be considered as obvious".............

so, on any shot that is not obvious (any bank etc...etc), regardless of how easy it looks, should always be made clear verbally by the shooter BEFORE he shoots otherwise it should be loss of turn or option to give back back if playing call shot/call safe.

Like I said earlier, games like 9 ball are exceptions to those rules.

Jeff
 
Back
Top