that didnt hit a rail

jcpoolgod

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
so you slam a ball into the pocket, it hits the back of the pocket , jumps out on the table, and it never hits a rail, is it a foul....because a ball mustbe pocketed or hit a RAIL..... the back of the pocket isnt a rail?
 
well, i can say i had someone call a foul on me once because of that ... but it ended up being canceled after much argument... because it 'was pocketed' ... but then jumped back out (damn gremlins)
 
If you want to get technical, it the ob hit the back of the pocket, it was "in the pocket" at one time. The fact that it came out again doesn't matter.

IMO, no foul.

Steve
 
Extremely unlucky missed shot -- but no foul

If you want to get technical, it the ob hit the back of the pocket, it was "in the pocket" at one time. The fact that it came out again doesn't matter.

IMO, no foul.

Steve

jcpoolgod:

Steve's got it right -- it is NOT a foul. It is considered a pocketed ball, because it fully entered the pocket itself. The fact that it bounced back onto the table surface opens a subsequent question as to whether that ball "scored" and therefore gets dropped back into the pocket by hand, or whether the player simply suffered a bad roll / faux pas by the equipment (i.e. ball stays on the table where it landed and it's the opponent's turn at the table), or what-have-you.

The WPA rules it as the latter, as shown in these two short videos:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Aleh6fRm_A0
http://youtube.com/watch?v=GWDe9Pt4P7w
(In this second one, Efren exactly duplicates your shot, jcpoolgod. The ball hits the back of the pocket and pops out onto the table surface, and to quote your original post, "no ball touches a rail." But in this WPA match, it is NOT a foul, and the opponent resumes play at the table with the balls as they lay.)

(Excuse Jim Wych's extremist excitability in the first video. These two are extremely unlucky and unlikely shots -- this table is screaming out for maintenance!)

Hope this is helpful,
-Sean
 
Last edited:
so you slam a ball into the pocket, it hits the back of the pocket , jumps out on the table, and it never hits a rail, is it a foul....because a ball mustbe pocketed or hit a RAIL..... the back of the pocket isnt a rail?
According to the written rules, which are available on the WPA website, you have a misconception. Here is a brief quote from those rules:

The cushions, tops of the rails, pockets and pocket liners are parts of the rails.

Here's the main rules link:

http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_tournament
 
Back
Top