In APA 8-ball, I believe that there is a rule that if a player shoots the wrong suit (obviously, closed table), and pockets a 2nd ball of the same suit before anyone notices the foul, then they get to claim that suit--or are now assigned that suit. I have never heard of a similar rule in 9-ball, and have only done minimal web searching to try and find an answer (which I did not find).
In 9-ball, is there a similar rule, where if a ball is shot out of order but no one notices, and the shooter pots the next ball then they get the benefit of the lack of oversight? And the foul could no longer be called retroactively? [Note, this is assuming that it was unintentional--I have been guilty of falling into 8-ball mode during a 9-ball game myself, so I believe anyone else can as well.]