Unplayable or what is the rule?

15cherries

15cherries
Silver Member
I have played a lot of 9 ball but tonight was the first time I ever saw this.I broke and made the wing ball which was the three and had a great shot on the 1, the 4 was buried between the 5 and 7 on the side rail so I made the 1 and the 2 but missed the break-out, the way the 5 and 7 had the 4 buried the cue ball would not fit anywhere to hit the 4 it was not possible to hit the 4 so what is the rule?
 
Hmmm? Yep,,even with BIH can't hit the OB??
I would have to guess,,only a guess,,,,if neither guy wants to touch any of the balls involved,,,,then it would have to be a re-rack.
 
if there is a 3 foul rule the first the person to take the first foul would have to do something before the 3rd foul.
 
Actually...

You would be on one...a smart opponent would simply foul giving you ball in hand...allow you to foul again...putting you on two...foul again going to two...warn you you are on 2 and take the win if you foul a third time..



R
 
I was thinking the same thing... maybe bump the cluster enough to make the ball accessible, but not enough to leave a roadmap to get out.
Or jump the cueball perfectly, directly on top of the ball with enough elevation that the object ball in turn rejects the cueball back in the direction it came from... leave him the same shot. That's what I would do, because I really, really love doing stupid things :)
 
I have played a lot of 9 ball but tonight was the first time I ever saw this.I broke and made the wing ball which was the three and had a great shot on the 1, the 4 was buried between the 5 and 7 on the side rail so I made the 1 and the 2 but missed the break-out, the way the 5 and 7 had the 4 buried the cue ball would not fit anywhere to hit the 4 it was not possible to hit the 4 so what is the rule?

The way I interpret it under WSR's it seems it really comes down to either one of the players trying to make a good hit by jumping and either does it, or fouls and the balls open up or; the players proceed by one of them trying to three foul the other guy. Of course both players could agree to a stalemate I guess, but if your opponent agrees to it then he isn't thinking it through.

There is both a 3 foul rule and a stalemate rule in 9 Ball under WSR. But I can't see a stalemate being declared when once one player fouls, the other will surely try to 3 foul him, so the game will be proceeding towards a conclusion.

Since you are at the table, if you choose to take a foul by not disturbing the balls and you both do the same until you are on two, then I suppose when you are on two you would have to attempt a good hit by jumping onto the correct ball.

There is a video of a player in exactly this situation and successfully executing the jump shot but I can't remember his name so wasn't able to find it. The other player wasn't on two but had boxed the guy in so bad when he was on two he had to jump onto the correct ball. The crowd went nuts when he pulled it off, of course. :D
 
Last edited:
Guess it all comes down to if there is a 3 foul rule. Not all tournaments use it. And if not,,,hmmm? Maybe it just doesn't matter.

If there is no stalemate in 9 ball,,which I did not know. Then I guess the shooters have to try to work the ball out,,even giving up BIH to do it,,,,,very carefully!!!

But then again,,if the 2 players agree,,,who really gives a hoot if they re-rack?? Even if it's the legal/ruled way to do it.


It's Very uncommon for this to happen.
 
is no stalmate rule in 9 ball. The stalmate rule applies in 8 ball.

From the WPA World Standardized Rules for 9 Ball:

2.9 Stalemate

If a stalemate occurs the original breaker of the rack will break again. (See 1.12 Stalemate.)

And from the BCAPL rule book for 9 Ball:

3.7 Stalemate

If a referee judges that the table is in a position such that any attempt to pocket or move a ball will result in loss of game, and each player has had three consecutive innings without significantly changing the position, the referee will declare a stalemate.

A situation could come up where say the 7 ball is hanging in the corner completely protected by the 8 and 9, so both players just start bunting the 6 ball around because neither wants to be the one to have to shoot at the 7.
 
Last edited:
... A situation could come up where say the 7 ball is hanging in the corner completely protected by the 8 and 9, so both players just start bunting the 6 ball around because neither wants to be the one to have to shoot at the 7.
Yes, but in that situation a player might try to make the 6-9-7 combo. A tougher spot is if the 7 is frozen to the middle of the end rail with the 8 and 9 stuck to it. The only hope would be to eventually play the 6 and break them out (risky) or to play safe on the 6 and break them or at least open the 7 a little.
 
I missed that. Can you describe the situation?

There was a tie up near the corner pocket and both players kept legally tapping the lowest ball on the table without fouling. Basically the lowest ball didn't really move it's position for a significant number of turns for each player (I forget how many), so Shuman (I believe he served as the ref) declared a stalemate
 
There was a tie up near the corner pocket and both players kept legally tapping the lowest ball on the table without fouling. Basically the lowest ball didn't really move it's position for a significant number of turns for each player (I forget how many), so Shuman (I believe he served as the ref) declared a stalemate

That's fine if the lowest numbered ball is accessible, the ref would have no other option than to restart the game. However, if the lowest numbered ball is covered by other balls, the players would be forced to foul in my opinion.

Rule 1.12 of the WPA Rules wouldn't help because three fouls would have been committed before the referee could declare a stalemate.
 
Hit the ball!

I have played a lot of 9 ball but tonight was the first time I ever saw this.I broke and made the wing ball which was the three and had a great shot on the 1, the 4 was buried between the 5 and 7 on the side rail so I made the 1 and the 2 but missed the break-out, the way the 5 and 7 had the 4 buried the cue ball would not fit anywhere to hit the 4 it was not possible to hit the 4 so what is the rule?

Simple. You must hit the four. Saw this on a video once. Tough shot done by a pro. Jump shot into the cluster. Anything you do is going to be a foul anyway.
 
In the situation described by the OP his mistake was making the 1 and 2 without a sure breakout. After making those two, his only chance to win was to break up the balls and take a foul on the first opportunity, giving the opponent BIH and hoping he doesn't run out or lock him up again.

If they are not broken up, the first player to foul loses on 3 fouls.

Best thing to do is leave the 2 tough and make the opponent take the first shot at the breakup
 
Last edited:
Back
Top