magix said:playing vnea 8 ball.player a breaks dry.player b comes to the table and says"i'm playing the 6 ball in the corner and i'm calling safe".he shoots and makes the 6 and tells player a that its his shot.please someone give me a ruling. george
Jude Rosenstock said:Table is open until a called shot is made. He can't call the 6 and play safe at the same time. He has to make up his mind.
magix said:why and were does it say that?
magix said:why and were does it say that?
magix said:playing vnea 8 ball.player a breaks dry.player b comes to the table and says"i'm playing the 6 ball in the corner and i'm calling safe".he shoots and makes the 6 and tells player a that its his shot.please someone give me a ruling. george
pooltchr said:It's a good safety and player A is shooting at stripes. Player A's turn.
Steve
TheNewSharkster said:Isn't there an old saying about having and eating cake? :thumbup:
In all seriousness Jude has to be right. Even on a open table you must call a ball and pocket. If you call safety you aren't calling the pocket.
desmocourtney said:Its a widely known (BCA and VNEA) rule to be able to pocket a ball and give up your turn by calling safe before the shot. Why would the fact that the table is open at the time make any difference? I couldn't find that in the rule book.
Jude Rosenstock said:You're sorta mixing it up. The difference is, the shooter wants to pocket a ball and choose a group AND play safe. Determining solids & stripes is only done on a called shot. That's it. Safeties are not called shots.
desmocourtney said:I am not saying you are wrong but where is the rule that says that?
magix said:i'm not trying to break anyones aggies here,however if there is no rule to cover it,why can't you do it.every ? i asked he had an answer for.i hate to hear thats just the the way it is. don't you?
Jude Rosenstock said:The Open Table rule covers this scenario. Only a called shot can determine group. That's it. You wanna think otherwise, good luck to you in life.