What's The Rule?

That's not entirely true. You must still address the cueball with a legal stroke.

That's true LOL, I once explained the push shot to a player new to 9 ball by "real" rules. I said, you can hit the cueball to anywhere on the table and it's not a foul. He picked it up with his hand to place it.
 
That's true LOL, I once explained the push shot to a player new to 9 ball by "real" rules. I said, you can hit the cueball to anywhere on the table and it's not a foul. He picked it up with his hand to place it.

In 14.1, deliberately fouling is commonplace. I can't say when it began or when it stopped but for a while, players would deliberately foul by tapping the top of the cueball with the side of their cue. This moment in a 14.1 game is always difficult to watch but this practice made it even more painful. Like I said, I don't know much about how or when this tapping went away but it just disappeared. In regards to pushing, I just wanted to convey that a foul can still occur. You can't tap the cueball with the side of your cue or double-hit the cueball. You're not exempt from fouling. You're just not required to hit the lowest ball (or any ball) or drive anything to a rail.
 
In 14.1, deliberately fouling is commonplace. I can't say when it began or when it stopped but for a while, players would deliberately foul by tapping the top of the cueball with the side of their cue. This moment in a 14.1 game is always difficult to watch but this practice made it even more painful. Like I said, I don't know much about how or when this tapping went away but it just disappeared. In regards to pushing, I just wanted to convey that a foul can still occur. You can't tap the cueball with the side of your cue or double-hit the cueball. You're not exempt from fouling. You're just not required to hit the lowest ball (or any ball) or drive anything to a rail.

There use to be a foul in 14.1 where they would lay the cue on the table and holding the shaft by the ferrule area raise the tip and barely glance the cue ball ..they made it a illegal hit in 14.1 at least

And then the legal stroke definition came into being....


R
 
That is a wrong rule, unless you just play in local bar rules tournament. By bar rules I mean the place has their own rules, not going by the BCA rules.

The whole point of the push is so you can move the cue ball when you can't see or don't have a reasonable shot at the lowest ball, so how can you have a rule you need to hit the lowest numbered ball in a push?

I've never played anywhere where there was a rule you can't hit another ball on a push.

inever said you had to hit the lowest numbered ball you do not need to hit any ball with a push but if you do hit a ball it better be the lowest number
 
inever said you had to hit the lowest numbered ball you do not need to hit any ball with a push but if you do hit a ball it better be the lowest number

Why, again there is no rule that says this that I know of?
 
Here's the WPA nine ball rule on pushes


2.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out
If no foul is committed on the break shot, the shooter may choose to play a “push out” as his shot. He must make his intention known to the referee, and then rules 6.2 Wrong Ball First and 6.3 No Rail after Contact are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player chooses who will shoot next.

Pretty straight forward
 
inever said you had to hit the lowest numbered ball you do not need to hit any ball with a push but if you do hit a ball it better be the lowest number

True, you did not say you "needed" to hit it on a push. But either way, there is no rule that you can't hit another ball first on a push. The rules state that it's OK to do that, as long as you use a legal hit on the cueball first. You don't need to hit a rail, you don't need to hit the lowest ball, aside from that, every other rule applies. For example, you can't jump a ball off the table on a push, or move the ball with your hand.
 
In 14.1, deliberately fouling is commonplace. I can't say when it began or when it stopped but for a while, players would deliberately foul by tapping the top of the cueball with the side of their cue. This moment in a 14.1 game is always difficult to watch but this practice made it even more painful. Like I said, I don't know much about how or when this tapping went away but it just disappeared. In regards to pushing, I just wanted to convey that a foul can still occur. You can't tap the cueball with the side of your cue or double-hit the cueball. You're not exempt from fouling. You're just not required to hit the lowest ball (or any ball) or drive anything to a rail.


Actually, that can be easily explained:

World Standarized Rules (in effect from 01.01.2008) dealt with this particular behaviour in order for the proceedings in the sport to be more sportslike and sportsmanlike.

Starting from the definition of the shot (Definitions 8.2), through Fouls (6.6 Touched Ball) ending with Fouls (6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct).
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play

Cutting the story short:

Any correct interaction between Player and balls should be done only by the cue tip addressing the cue ball. Of course, sometimes it may result in a foul (deliberate faul, tactical foul).

The action you described (tapping the top of the cueball) is automatically considered as unsportsmanlike behaviour and should be immediately addressed by the Referee or the non-shooting Player (who, then, is supposed to be acting as a Referee).
In the mildest scenario (inexperienced Players) this is obviously a foul but also an immediate warning for an intentional unsportsmanlike conduct that the second action of this type will immediately result in a unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.
Hope that explains it in detail :smile:

It was actually nice to hear that the WPA World Rules Congress 2006 had some considerable effects everywhere :wink::rolleyes::smile:
 
Last night, I played a game of 9 ball with a friend. I broke, made a ball, and the 9 rolled toward the corner pocket. I played a safety locking the CB behind another ball with no way possible for him to pocket the 9 with the CB.

He shot the 9 in with his cue and then picked up the CB and gave it to me. He said a foul is a foul, right? I didn't know what to call other than a foul...Now is no longer hanging in the corner but rather on the spot..

What is the call in this situation?
 
crazy

Even if it was a foul,and it wasn't,there is no way the TD should have made a call after the game was over.Once the incoming player accepts the table and plays a shot the previous shot is history.
 
Last night, I played a game of 9 ball with a friend. I broke, made a ball, and the 9 rolled toward the corner pocket. I played a safety locking the CB behind another ball with no way possible for him to pocket the 9 with the CB.

He shot the 9 in with his cue and then picked up the CB and gave it to me. He said a foul is a foul, right? I didn't know what to call other than a foul...Now is no longer hanging in the corner but rather on the spot..

What is the call in this situation?


He raked the balls and lost the game.
 
In 14.1, deliberately fouling is commonplace. I can't say when it began or when it stopped but for a while, players would deliberately foul by tapping the top of the cueball with the side of their cue. This moment in a 14.1 game is always difficult to watch but this practice made it even more painful. Like I said, I don't know much about how or when this tapping went away but it just disappeared. In regards to pushing, I just wanted to convey that a foul can still occur. You can't tap the cueball with the side of your cue or double-hit the cueball. You're not exempt from fouling. You're just not required to hit the lowest ball (or any ball) or drive anything to a rail.


You get this in 1 pocket as well Jude.I sometimes will ask my opponent if they are ok with this kind of foul.I agree that it is a deliberate rather then intentional foul but if both players are ok with it I just let it go.
 
Last night, I played a game of 9 ball with a friend. I broke, made a ball, and the 9 rolled toward the corner pocket. I played a safety locking the CB behind another ball with no way possible for him to pocket the 9 with the CB.

He shot the 9 in with his cue and then picked up the CB and gave it to me. He said a foul is a foul, right? I didn't know what to call other than a foul...Now is no longer hanging in the corner but rather on the spot..

What is the call in this situation?

Wow, that's quite good thinking on his part ...if it's not officially considered unsportsmanlike behaviour.


He raked the balls and lost the game.
I've never seen the phrase "raked the balls" before. What does that mean?
 
Last night, I played a game of 9 ball with a friend. I broke, made a ball, and the 9 rolled toward the corner pocket. I played a safety locking the CB behind another ball with no way possible for him to pocket the 9 with the CB.

He shot the 9 in with his cue and then picked up the CB and gave it to me. He said a foul is a foul, right? I didn't know what to call other than a foul...Now is no longer hanging in the corner but rather on the spot..

What is the call in this situation?

In a real game or tournament that should be loss of game. He could have tried to make the 9 ball in but using the cueball and hitting another ball first. Then that's a foul.

A blatant foul can be called loss of game, like if you miss and then hit a bunch of balls with your stick to tie them up, or stop a cueball right when it's about to break up a cluster for the other guy.

What he did should be loss of game, but in a friendly game I'd let it go as a foul.
 
Last night, I played a game of 9 ball with a friend. I broke, made a ball, and the 9 rolled toward the corner pocket. I played a safety locking the CB behind another ball with no way possible for him to pocket the 9 with the CB.

He shot the 9 in with his cue and then picked up the CB and gave it to me. He said a foul is a foul, right? I didn't know what to call other than a foul...Now is no longer hanging in the corner but rather on the spot..

What is the call in this situation?

There are two ways to look at this: The first is unsportsmanlike behavior and loss of game on his part. The second is that the ball would go back to the spot it was at and it would still be his shot or if you were playing all ball fouls it would go back to the spot it was at and you would get ball in hand.
 
The push shot is the pool equivalent of dividing a bag of weed without a scale. You dope smokers out there know what I'm talking about.:smile:

JC
 
Back
Top