You make the call!bbb

Fragged

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
You make the call. The match is on the shot clock.

Player A breaks and makes nothing but starts acting like he did- He gets his playing stick. Player B notices whats going on and the runout is real tough so he figures he will wait for player A to shoot and call foul. Player A is taking his time and the shot clock officials calls out "10" Player A asks for an extension but is ignored. 10 seconds later the clock guy calls "Foul" and Player A says WTF i asked for an extension? The clock guy says no the foul is on Player B (in his seat)-It's was his shot, not yours,You have ball in hand. Player B goes ballistic.

What's the call, what went wrong here?
 
I don't know how the shot clock actually works, but IMO, they shouldn't start player B's shot clock until player A sits his *** down. :)
 
Wow, that's a pretty odd situation. I think that Player B should have got his butt to the table and shot. If he didn't like the layout of the table he could just play a safe (or a pushout if they are playing 9 ball).

What Player B was trying to do (wait and call a foul on Player A) is a really sorry thing to do to another player, so I think it serves him right. Karma is a b**ch sometimes.
 
Karma indeed. Sounds like Player B tried to pull a fast one and it blew up in his face.
 
Fragged said:
You make the call. The match is on the shot clock.

Player A breaks and makes nothing but starts acting like he did- He gets his playing stick. Player B notices whats going on and the runout is real tough so he figures he will wait for player A to shoot and call foul. Player A is taking his time and the shot clock officials calls out "10" Player A asks for an extension but is ignored. 10 seconds later the clock guy calls "Foul" and Player A says WTF i asked for an extension? The clock guy says no the foul is on Player B (in his seat)-It's was his shot, not yours,You have ball in hand. Player B goes ballistic.

What's the call, what went wrong here?


Sounds like player B may have got a taste of his own medicine. However, If player A is still at the table acting like he is about to shoot a shot then a mistake has been made and maybe the REF should have called it and made it known it was not his shot. I don't think the clock starts until the other player steps up to the table. Either way it was TWO bull calls. Player B should have went to the table when he knew it was his shot and the REF should not have called a foul on player B if he didn't show he knew it was his shot.
 
Fragged said:
You make the call. The match is on the shot clock.

Player A breaks and makes nothing but starts acting like he did- He gets his playing stick. Player B notices whats going on and the runout is real tough so he figures he will wait for player A to shoot and call foul. Player A is taking his time and the shot clock officials calls out "10" Player A asks for an extension but is ignored. 10 seconds later the clock guy calls "Foul" and Player A says WTF i asked for an extension? The clock guy says no the foul is on Player B (in his seat)-It's was his shot, not yours,You have ball in hand. Player B goes ballistic.

What's the call, what went wrong here?

That's a foul....on the ref. :)
 
clock starts when?

Wow, interesting situation. I noticed the comment about the clock starting when the
incoming player steps to the table. This can't (shouldn't) be the case, since on a tough
layout of the balls, the incoming player could analyze the table layout from his or her
chair for as long as they wanted.

I remember a match, I think I have it on an old tape, where a player was really starting
to take advantage of the fact that the clock did not start after a foul, until the referee
gave the incoming player the cue ball. There was a tough layout, and the player was
avoiding the referee, intentionally refusing to take the cue ball, while looking over the
table. He was a big guy that chewed gum vigorously, but his name escapes me.
 
if no ball is made on the break it's up to the ref to make sure the right player is at the table. Jay is right.....foul on the ref.
 
Player B's fault. There's no rule that says the first guy HAS to be seated in order for player B's shot clock to start. But there IS a rule that player B has to respect the shot clock or it's a foul. Just go by the book, and it helps that player B happens to get punished for a sleazy move to boot.
 
Back
Top