I was playing VNEA league last night and had an ERO. On my first shot after the break, the cue ball was close to the 6 ball (under quarter inch). Almost a full length table shot. So I stroked it pretty hard from a 45 degree elevated cue. Because of the force I hit it with, the cue ball traveled about a ball past where the object ball was before the draw kicked in and pulled back a few inches.
I didn't think it was a foul/push shot. So I continued on and ran out. My opponent said nice run, but just fyi, 1st shot was a push shot. He didn't make a big deal out of it, but started to explain that when the balls are that close, if the cue ball travels past where the OB was, that is illegal. Here are the double hit and push rules from VNEA. It doesn't specify anything about cue ball travel.
Again, wasn't a big deal, he didn't contest the results (he didn't ask for a ref) but I'm a clean player and feel a bit bad that he feels it was a foul and I don't think it was. What do you think? As it's not in the rules, he may have confused "illegal to go past the OB" with "going past the OB is part of the evidence a ref considers as part of a double hit".
6. FOULS BY DOUBLE HITS. It is a foul if the cue ball is struck more than once on a shot by the cue tip (such shots are usually referred to as double hits). If, in the referee’s judgment, the cue ball has left initial contact with the cue tip and then is struck a second time in the course of the same shot, it shall be a foul. (Note: this can be a difficult call in officiating because on shots where the distance between the cue ball and the object ball is very short, the referee must judge whether the cue ball had time to move out of contact with the cue tip prior to being impeded and then propelled again by the follow through of the stroke.) Nonetheless, if it is judged by virtue of sound, ball position and action and stroke used that there were two separate contacts of the cue ball by the cue tip on a stroke, the stroke is a foul and must be so called.
7. PUSH SHOT FOULS. It is a foul if the cue tip pushes the cue ball with contact being maintained for more than the momentary time commensurate with a stroked shot. (Such shots are usually referred to as push shots.) With a cue ball and object ball frozen, shooting the shot from any angle other than at least 45 degrees above, or at least 45 degrees to the right or at least 45 degrees to the left of center from the straight line of the frozen balls is a foul and must be so called.
I didn't think it was a foul/push shot. So I continued on and ran out. My opponent said nice run, but just fyi, 1st shot was a push shot. He didn't make a big deal out of it, but started to explain that when the balls are that close, if the cue ball travels past where the OB was, that is illegal. Here are the double hit and push rules from VNEA. It doesn't specify anything about cue ball travel.
Again, wasn't a big deal, he didn't contest the results (he didn't ask for a ref) but I'm a clean player and feel a bit bad that he feels it was a foul and I don't think it was. What do you think? As it's not in the rules, he may have confused "illegal to go past the OB" with "going past the OB is part of the evidence a ref considers as part of a double hit".
6. FOULS BY DOUBLE HITS. It is a foul if the cue ball is struck more than once on a shot by the cue tip (such shots are usually referred to as double hits). If, in the referee’s judgment, the cue ball has left initial contact with the cue tip and then is struck a second time in the course of the same shot, it shall be a foul. (Note: this can be a difficult call in officiating because on shots where the distance between the cue ball and the object ball is very short, the referee must judge whether the cue ball had time to move out of contact with the cue tip prior to being impeded and then propelled again by the follow through of the stroke.) Nonetheless, if it is judged by virtue of sound, ball position and action and stroke used that there were two separate contacts of the cue ball by the cue tip on a stroke, the stroke is a foul and must be so called.
7. PUSH SHOT FOULS. It is a foul if the cue tip pushes the cue ball with contact being maintained for more than the momentary time commensurate with a stroked shot. (Such shots are usually referred to as push shots.) With a cue ball and object ball frozen, shooting the shot from any angle other than at least 45 degrees above, or at least 45 degrees to the right or at least 45 degrees to the left of center from the straight line of the frozen balls is a foul and must be so called.