Your opponent pockets a ball, but the ball jumps back out of the pocket

I think the rules on this are quite clear. See www.wpa-pool.com.

A story I've told before: at the 1976 World Championships (in Asbury Park), the off-brand tables had plastic-coated wire runners to take the balls to the ball hopper. The problem is that the wires came out to the bottom of the pocket rather than being joined to an L-shaped pocket. On many break shots the object ball went straight into the center of the pocket at speed, hit the wire runner and trampolined back onto the table. End of inning.

As for the video of first one guy and then Efren being treated badly by the same pocket, the moral is same as for the Asbury Park event: don't play on lousy tables.
 
there is no technicality about it....ball needs to come to rest....

I have even seen once ball come to rest on top of the railing but NOT touching the wood (or the fake wood) part of the table and I believe the ball might still be in play then....or perhaps there was something in the rulebook about "ball coming to rest in the pocket or on the bed of the table"
 
Shoot w/touch..... not blast ;) not very often you have to hit it so hard that the cue ball goes 5 rails for shape.
 
This has become commonplace on side pocket banks at the room I play out of. We have taken to giving our opponent a crisp 1 dollar bill each time it happens, but their turn is over. Sucks but we just chalk it up to a bad roll.

I'd rather have a dirty five than a crisp one. :sorry:
 
You're going to have to explain to me how a ball can go down to the BOTTOM of the pocket and then come back out.

To me, if the ball doesn't stay in the pocket, sorry about your back luck.

It happens. Or, if it doesn't happen, it'd be tough for you to convince anyone it didn't.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uQq_0a4pMs

Freddie <~~~ unfortunately a victim

{edit: I see like everybody already put this link up}
 
Last edited:
If the ball don't stay, you no longer play.

Period, end of discussion.

With those statements, you show you are not way out in left field, you are in the bleachers. Opinions are what we were asked for.

If you foul, regardless of how it happened, you fouled. A foul is the end of your turn.

If you can't understand basic sportsmanship, you need to quit playing.

Sometimes I love peoples thought processes....
 
I would like to ask our veteran members whether this is possible or not.

I shot a ball into a Valley side pocket and it
came up the other side and stopped in front
of that pocket. My opponent gave the ball
to me and I continued to shoot. I told him
I was not sure I would have given it to him,
if the situation was reversed. But, he insisted
it was my shot. He was a good guy to
gamble with - so honest!
 
My Brunswick has leather pockets that only spit balls out of the back of the pocket hit at medium speed.

If the rules were reversed there would be issues such as:

The guy in his chair is distracted and didn't even see the ball get spit back out.

The guy in his chair pretends he didn't see it.

The ignorant shooter thinks it happened when really it was just a really deep rattle.

The dishonest player claims it spit out when it was just a really deep rattle and his opponent was distracted. Or even if he wasn't distracted.

Huge can of worms.
 
I was at APA singles nationals playing my first match of 8ball. My opponent says to me...oh great, we got a good table for once! (we had one of the newer valleys in the room). First or second game he's shooting into a corner and hits the back of the pocket and the ball jumps back out onto the table. I went ahead and eased the same ball into the same pocket and for the rest of the match avoided firing a ball into that pocket. After we are done, he shakes my hand and says "Remember all I said about this being a good table? Well forget all that, I take it all back!"
 
There is an accu-stats highlite vol 1, At 36:00 of the video Jim Mataya breaks and the 5 ball goes in the corner pocket and comes back out. Both players thought a ball was pocketed on the break. According to Buddy Hall and Billy I (who were the commentators)once 2 balls were shot the rack stands... They called it "The Phantom 5 Ball"

This one is hilarious, he calmly runs out all the balls (not realizing he broke and then made 9 separate shots), and both players just carry on. "Nice Out".
 
Sometimes I love peoples thought processes....

"Originally Posted by HendryMBE
With those statements, you show you are not way out in left field, you are in the bleachers. Opinions are what we were asked for.

If you foul, regardless of how it happened, you fouled. A foul is the end of your turn."

NO SIR, HWENDRY MBE....IT IS NOT!!!!

Read the rules! Under unsportsmanlike conduct RULES...LOTS of things can happen if there is a FOUL under that rule....INCLUDING NOTHING...and including a mere warning in which case your inning would CONTINUE.

Facts are facts...sorry.

(-:

EagleMan
 
I was playing snooker.
Potted the black in a corner pocket.
Black popped back out of the pocket ...
And rolled across the table into the side pocket.
I claimed I should get 14 points since I pocketed the ball twice with a single shot.
My opponent declined this interpretation. :mad::mad::mad:
 
If the Pool Gods decide to spit out your ball, at any time, and anywhere, who are we to argue with the almighty Pool Gods......

You must have had it coming, so do what I do, while walking back to my chair and "whisper", very quietly, so nobody can hear you.... "frigging pool gods stomping on me again"...... I'm sure I had it coming :)
 
I was playing snooker.
Potted the black in a corner pocket.
Black popped back out of the pocket ...
And rolled across the table into the side pocket.
I claimed I should get 14 points since I pocketed the ball twice with a single shot.
My opponent declined this interpretation. :mad::mad::mad:

Hell I would have given you the points, damn rounded corners on the snookey table kill me. I'm a pocket cheater.
 
8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
 
Back
Top