wow SVB forfeits match vs Alcano

They are playing by WPA rules which states the Ten ball must be called! It was announced this way at the players meeting, which Shane failed to attend. I think the official and the TD made the right call here. If they had given Shane a break, then any player who didn't call the Ten would say Shane got a break, so why not me too? You CANNOT favor the top players when running a tournament. It's that simple. Shane KNOWS he is responsible for this and that's why he came back and played his match later.

WPA rules:

9.5 Call Shots & Pocketing Balls
Whenever the shooter is attempting to pocket a ball (except the break) he is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant.
 
Pinoys/Manny P/got KO'd with Alcanos Actions

:D Some people are blaming Alcano for not doing or saying anything. What is the referee there for if not to enforce the rules? Shane committed an error, then he should be penalized. It was his decision to quit which is a sign of poor sportsmanship. Why should he receive any special treatment?


The poor sportsman was Alcano, a World Champion. Do any of you think Efren would of done this to Shane on a straight in shot?????


I've seen this MOVE many times over here....Sad and no respect for a game that's stood the test of time. Shane's VERY aware....His actions spoke LOUDER than words, he made his point, Alcano made his and that's that. Alcano, I always was suspect of his true character and integrity of others till this incident.
If I was one of his countrymen, I would let Alcano know how I felt about the choice he made.
 
QUOTE=cleary;5001480]WPA rules:

9.5 Call Shots & Pocketing Balls
Whenever the shooter is attempting to pocket a ball (except the break) he is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant.[/QUOTE]

:thumbup2:.........................................
 

The poor sportsman was Alcano, a World Champion. Do any of you think Efren would of done this to Shane on a straight in shot?????


I've seen this MOVE many times over here....Sad and no respect for a game that's stood the test of time. Shane's VERY aware....His actions spoke LOUDER than words, he made his point, Alcano made his and that's that. Alcano, I always was suspect of his true character and integrity of others till this incident.
If I was one of his countrymen, I would let Alcano know how I felt about the choice he made.

Just what did Alcano do besides state, while at the end of the table, that yes, you have to call all the ten balls?? Amazing how so many are willing to trash Alcano for Shanes screwup.:confused:
 
QUOTE=cleary;5001480]WPA rules:

9.5 Call Shots & Pocketing Balls
Whenever the shooter is attempting to pocket a ball (except the break) he is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant.

:thumbup2:.........................................[/QUOTE]

Apparently you and Cleary just want to disregard the little fact that it was stated in the players meeting that they had to call all the ten balls, even if obvious. Why you guys keep posting that rule, when it doesn't apply here anymore than an APA rule would, is beyond me.
 

The poor sportsman was Alcano, a World Champion. Do any of you think Efren would of done this to Shane on a straight in shot?????

I like that you bring up Efren. Watch the match between Efren and Rodney. Efren calls the 10 ball in that match before shooting it in every game I watched. Is it hard to believe that Efren would expect others to follow the rules of the tournament as he does? It isn't like nobody in the tournament was explicitly calling it and the ref just decided to apply the rule to Shane.

Everyone thinks Shane is special so he shouldn't have to play by the same rules as everyone else. Maybe Ronnie said something thinking it is BS that everyone else in the field is required to call the 10 ball while Shane doesn't have to. Maybe the ref didn't want to say anything because he is Shane. Who knows. The fact remains that others where calling the 10 ball on obvious shots and Shane was not.

The argument gets weaker when you say Shane called the 10 ball for his second win. If he did, it was because he saw from Alcano that his opponent was calling it. So then there is absolutely no excuse for him to not call it in future games.
 
Apparently you and Cleary just want to disregard the little fact that it was stated in the players meeting that they had to call all the ten balls, even if obvious. Why you guys keep posting that rule, when it doesn't apply here anymore than an APA rule would, is beyond me.

WPA rules are WPA rules.[/QUOTE]

Yeah, WPA rules are WPA rules. APA rules are APA rules. What's that got to do with the fact that they were using MODIFIED WPA rules? If anything, it's just another case of some promoter making his own rules to a supposedly established game and causing confusion among those that didn't attend the players meeting for whatever reason.

Should be one set of rules, period.
 
Yeah, WPA rules are WPA rules. APA rules are APA rules. What's that got to do with the fact that they were using MODIFIED WPA rules? If anything, it's just another case of some promoter making his own rules to a supposedly established game and causing confusion among those that didn't attend the players meeting for whatever reason.

Should be one set of rules, period.

I agree there should be one set of rules but if you're using WPA rules and you make a modification, then it's not WPA rules. Jay said they were using WPA rules but he also said that WPA rules states the 10ball has to be called which is incorrect. If you're going to make up your own rules, don't claim they're WPA rules if they're not.
 
Jealousy comes to mind.

If the WPA states ''obvious'' that speaks Loudly. If that's not the case then I retract my statement with the ''thumbs up''.....thread, but if that is the rule then they need real referees.......................Typical pool player actions comes to mind.

I would never of done this in match play to any of my peers/Rempe/Efren/Davenport/Carter/Cole/Boom Boom/Archer/Varner and on and on and on and on. I have great respect for others in match play. And expect the same in return.

Ck out the FB threads................ I'm :outtahere: Too much drama.

Merry Xmas to all.............:thumbup:
 
read my post above, this is NOT what WPA rules states, so this doesn't end anything.

Jaden

I guarantee you if Shane went to the player meeting he would have called the 10 ball every game just like other players in the field. He wasn't at the player meeting (which players should be required to attend) so he didn't know the rules. Apparently what was said at the player meeting was communicated properly to those in attendance because they were calling the 10 ball no matter how easy the shot was.

Say they made this a rule at the Swanee at the player meeting. You may complain about it but I am sure when your first match was announced you would call the 9 ball every game and so would your opponent. And please don't say you would not participate in the tourney because you don't like the rule. That is just absurd.
 
Wow mate you really are forcing it. What is obvious to the shooter might not be to the referee, especially if it is 7 foot away from the pocket. The obvious might be just 3" from the pocket. The Ref still has the final say.

That's just silly. The shot was a straight-in shot with the balls about a foot apart. I've watched enough call pocket games like 14.1 where both the particular ball and the intended pocket need to be called. Even though two balls side-by-side may be makable in the same pocket, both the players stance and his cue direction can be relied upon to indicate which one of the two will be shot at without having to actually call the shot aloud.

In the old days the ref often called these shots out for the player. Some times you'd hear him call out, "5-ball... 13-ball... 5-ball..." as the player went back and forth, making subtle adjustments to his stance that indicated which ball he was thinking of shooting at. If a ref can easily see all of these possibilities and call the right shot, certainly any ref should be able to tell by stance alone that Shane intended to shoot that 10 in the far corner, no matter what the distance to the pocket was.

Anyway, apparently you missed this part of the rule:

"If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call."

If the ref was unsure, he should have asked for a pocket to be specified. But he didn't. That's because no one in their right mind would play that 10-ball in the side pocket, which would have been the only other choice.

Alcano may have been waiting for this moment as way to get a free game on the wire against a formidable opponent. Or maybe he's just OCD about rules, and had had enough of Shane's flagrant "refusal" to call his pocket on the 10. Who really knows? Me, I suspect it was a move.
 
Wow mate you really are forcing it. What is obvious to the shooter might not be to the referee, especially if it is 7 foot away from the pocket. The obvious might be just 3" from the pocket. The Ref still has the final say.

Did you see the shot on which the ref said the shot was uncalled. Anyone who thinks that shot was not obvious and not the shot Shane was playing is either ignorant or goofy.

Do you think Shane's shot was not obviously the shot he was playing?
 
Back
Top