If it was cue ball in hand and you did that with the cue ball, that would be okay, right?
probably so but he took out a pocketed ball to line up something. I'm not sure exactly what he did, I went back & looked at the thread from the derby. here is cornerman's original post
8-7 Shane, Dennis on a tough run.
Dennis grabs a ball out of play (13-ball), puts it on the table and lines up where he needs to line up the cueball for a shot on a troubled pair. Shane asks Dennis to hold on and gets a referee. Shane shows the referee what happened, and the ref calls a foul on Dennis.
Dennis concedes the game and match, hits the tied up balls and storms off.
Freddie <~~~ that's too many, Dennis