
Two widely accepted and published definitions we use in most games are these:
Within rule 8.13, Position of Balls: the position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface. A ball is said to be placed on a line or a spot when its center is placed directly over that line or spot.
Within rule 8.1, Parts of the Table: the following will be marked if they are used in the game being played: the foot spot, where the foot string and the long string meet
And specifically in the 14.1 Continuous Pool section of the latest World-Standardized Rules found in the Official Rules and Records Book published by the BCA, 2014 Edition:
Within rule 4.2, The 14.1 Rack: ...The marked outline of the triangle will be used to determine whether an intended break ball is in the rack area.
So ---- here's the scenario:
Our local 14.1 league plays on 8' tables that have the larger 1.25" black Master Spots (and it is called THE SPOT) with the smaller 1/4" inner white spot. No marked outline of the rack on the cloth because these tables understandably are not used exclusively for straight pool.
And here's the question:
Since the "published" definitions within every governing body's rules don't specifically state the CENTER of the ball must be placed in the exact CENTER of a given "spot", is it reasonable to say that as long as the place where the ball touches the playing surface (on the spot) ANYWHERE on that 1.25 large "spot" is a legal spotting of the ball?
Here's where and how this came up:
Player A needing to rack the 14 pocketed balls with their break ball very, very close to the rack - in their estimation. This break ball was NOT "within the rack" but again very, very close. Close enough that when they were racked (absent the head ball of course) the 1.25" spot was off center by as much as 1" --- and in this person's opinion and interpretation, had the apex ball been placed in this rack to test its validity, would have indeed been ON THE SPOT still - just on its outer most edge. Worth noting: the entire rack of 14 balls was obviously off center and above its "normal" position on the table had a rack outline been marked. It was that obvious.
Hard to argue that point when explained that way.
Open for interpretation perhaps.
What do you 14.1 players think about this situation and what defines ON THE SPOT in lieu of technical, specific and explicit published guidelines?
Here is how I dealt with this situation when it occurred: I said that I understand and accept his interpretation of being "on the spot" as this table was marked. Thusly I will play by the exact interpretation he has for the rest of the game including every other marked spot position on the table when they are appropriate.
Game on. No following issues ensued.
Thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited: