Instead of ejected don't you mean the prize should be given to Jayson, based on the official investigation.
the rule is fine. Notice the part I put in red. Jayson did not clarify the shot when he heard "2 ball". It was obvious to him that Earl misspoke and was intending the ten ball as his shot. Jayson ignored the actual rule and waited like a vulture to pounce on Earl . Jayson blew it, plain and simple.
1.6 Standard Call Shot
In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.
For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.
In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game.
I guess I've missed it, again....and no, I haven't watched the video. I've read portions of several of the threads regarding the topic, and it seems to me that I've seen several people post here that Earl did point his cue at the 10. Yes, after verbally calling the 2, but again, pointing towards the 10 to me indicates that is what he fully intended and indicated.
Perhaps I've misread, and certainly I should watch the video, but assuming those reports to be true, I do not understand all the angst.
Of course, I've been baffled before, and likely will be again....
If roles were reversed I am for certain that Earl would have the class to know that It was a simple verbal error and let it slide. Earl is thorough bread American winner, he takes pride in winning with on his ability. He wouldn't take pride in winning on an opponents(and supposed friend)verbal brain fart and stupid technicality, he just wouldn't. This is such a silly controversy I can't believe I'm even posting in this thread. Jayson Shaw is disgracing this great sport that is supposed to be a gentlemen's game, based on honor, courtesy, good sportsmanship, and class. Wtf is this game coming to?
the rule is fine. Notice the part I put in red. Jayson did not clarify the shot when he heard "2 ball". It was obvious to him that Earl misspoke and was intending the ten ball as his shot. Jayson ignored the actual rule and waited like a vulture to pounce on Earl . Jayson blew it, plain and simple.
1.6 Standard Call Shot
In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.
For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.
In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game.
You know what, Jdub?
I've always liked your voice on AZ.....I don't drink much, but if we ever meet....
...I'll buy the first 18 rounds.
You are kidding, right ? I don't understand this kind of thinking. Trying to turn black into white as we say in my country.
It says: "he may ask for a call" and not "he should ask for a call".
Strickland made the call which was wrong. Did you expect his opponent to ask him to think again ?
I saw the results in this poll. I know most of the guys who voted "no" are from the U.S. Seems like you don't respect the rules so much.....
If Efren Reyes did the same mistake, he would accept it and sit down without acting like a 3-year old kid.
Why ? Because he is a real sportsman.
You guys are unbeatable !!!!!!!!
Being from the U.S. or somewhere else has no bearing whatsoever. Being able to comprehend what one is reading does. Notice it says "may" call for a ruling. That doesn't imply that if he doesn't call for a ruling, it is then an automatic foul.
It simply means that if he is unsure of the call, he can have it clarified if he so wishes to. If he doesn't have it clarified, then it would automatically go to the shooter just like any other time.
Watch the video, the one acting like the 3 year old is Shaw. Doing whatever he feels like regardless of the rules, throwing a fit and yelling to try and get his way, and then throwing a tantrum and tossing the balls around the room when he doesn't get his way.
Earl was very restrained by smacking his cue on the floor instead of across Jayson's head.
This was after Strickland's reaction.
If I was playing instead of Shaw, I wouldn't say anything. I don't call fouls when my opponent touches a ball while trying to place his bridge hand. I often "click" my fingers when my opponent has to play the "easy" 9 to show him that he doesn't have to play the shot.
This doesn't mean that I expect my opponents to do the same when I am at the table. And I will not say anything if they call all the fouls and let me play all the shots. I often call my own fouls (for example if I touch a ball with my hand).
Strickland doesn't respect the rules. And I would say he shows no respect to his opponents. He has never done that. He is not a sportsman.
I agree with you that Earl is not a good sportsman - he is a crazy person and the worst sportsman in pool, without a doubt. But just like whether or not you are from the US is irrelevant to the facts here, whether or not Earl is a crazy person and poor sport is irrelevant to what happened here. Earl made a verbal misstatement about an obvious shot, Jayson tried to call him on it, and then Jayson threw a violent tantrum when he didn't get to win on it. I'm sure Earl's past behavior in the match had an effect on Jayson, but that too is irrelevant to who was the poor sport in this specific ball-calling situation.
Apart from the behavior of the two players, the RULE ITSELF IS AT FAULT. The rule is ambiguous and poorly written, and this case is the perfect illustration.
The rule states that the player's intention must be clear, either by the obvious situation on the table, or by an explicit call by the shooter. But it does not foresee the situation where the two types of indicators are in conflict.
Apparently, the TD here thinks that in the case of a conflict the verbal call rules--otherwise why even bother to try and listen to the tape to figure out what the call was. Others think that if it was obvious from the situation on the table what the player's intention was the verbal call is beside the point. What all this conflict of opinion proves is that THE RULE IS AMBIGUOUS.
The rule should explicitly state that where the situation on the table is clear and the intention of the shooter is obvious, then this supercedes any verbal call. Where the situation on the table and the shooter's intention is not obvious, then whatever the shooter's call was is controlling (even if the shooter claims this was not his intention). (COMBINATIONS, BANKS CAROMS, JUMP SHOTS, KICKS)
End of ambiguity--end of this type of FUBAR.
I think he was playing the two.
Bert
Where? :scratchhead:
Did you watch the video?
I watched the video Jasyon posted on Facebook and I heard Earl, talking to himself and perhaps someone in the audience say "you know what Efren would do? He would play the carom". Walks around calls the two and shoots.
I think he was playing the two.
Bert