Switching to a low deflection shaft, pros and cons?

poolplayer2093

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm still waiting for evidence that a low-deflection shaft actually out performs a standard shaft that is bridged at it's pivot point and used with back-hand English.

Evidence of this......anywhere?

it's not weather the shaft can. it's weather you can with the shaft. who cares what someone else can prove. just because they can do it doesn't mean you can

take a risk and buy one. if it's not for you then sell it and go back to what ever you were using

sammi sam

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I had house cue, run 45 balls on 14/1 comp.

I had first cue Brunswick run 40 something on 14/1 comp.

I had first custom SW run 60 ball on 14/1 comp.

I examed 314 shaft run 10 ball miss, hahaha.

Fact is not about cue, it's us.

monchiwai

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am pretty much the other way round... i used to be a 314-guy, basically ever since i started playing seriously... been using it for 4 years, love the way it plays.
Recently I changed to a old school maple shaft... took me well over two months to adjust myself on the amount of deflection it generates... But now i would say that i can use both type of shafts (playing at the same level)...

I cannot specifically tell what are the pros and cons of each, but one thing i noticed is that the cue ball travels on a slightly different line before and after contacting the object ball, when applying spin.
All in all, it is about adjusting yourself to it.

Blue

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
How much of your improvement could be due to the shorter follow through and cueing softer? Seems like you changed some things besides the shaft.

Good question, i was thinking that too.

I think i played better now because I made some changes to my stroke and try to improve a little on my fundamentals, ie smoother follow through and lesser jerking action from wrist.