This also occurred at the US Open in what I believe to have been 2016 in a match between Dennis Grabe and Mike Dechaine, two pretty tough customers as we all know. I think, but am not certain, that the score was 8-5, with Grabe ahead in the race to 11. Grabe had racked his own and left the template hanging over the bottom rail. Grabe was in the process of running out and made a superb shot on the five ball, but the cue ball hit the overhanging template.
After Mike called a ref, our own Bob Jewett made the ruling, and it was judged a foul. The momentum in the match seemed to turn at this moment and Dechaine went on to run the next three racks and win.
I had no idea that hitting the overhanging template was a foul until that day, as it can be easily argued that hitting it has no effect on the path or speed of the cue ball. Seems a silly rule to me, but I guess the rules are the rules.