Brite-Tone: new waterborne finish

Facundus Cues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Well I played around with the brite tone and I am by no means a finish expert. I brushed it on over epoxy sealer on a couple cues and can say it sand easy and lays down pretty well but if you hit it with rubbing alcohol even after drying for months it gets tacky and soft

speedy5963

speedy5963
Silver Member
Good read and info in this thread, as someone new messing with cue building and have done repair work for a while. I've only sprayed a few cues but having an automotive spraying background, that is my comfort zone. May get the test kit and play with this as well though.

Guerra Cues

I build one cue at a time
Silver Member
I have a few cues that have been finished for over a year and the finish looks awesome and never had issues with any alcohol or any other solvent after the cue was sprayed and dried.

Michael Webb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Spot on!
I've spent quite a bit of time and money on clear coat products, buffing compounds, spray guns etc. and I'm still learning.

Fact!
When it comes to wood puzzles, (pool cues), no one knows everything. It gets easier when you do things consistently such as, learn about what your using, along with Temperature and humidity of your shop.

speedy5963

speedy5963
Silver Member
I ended up with a SATA minijet. Iwata, Sata, Devilbiss, they all seem to make high quality sprayguns. I'm using a 2K Mipa clear atm, PPG and Chromax is crazy expensive over here!

I have a few Sata's, love them, for cues the simple touch up gun works great.

Kim Bye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Fact!
When it comes to wood puzzles, (pool cues), no one knows everything. It gets easier when you do things consistently such as, learn about what your using, along with Temperature and humidity of your shop.

Yep, it`s one thing reading about what another cuemaker is doing, but doing it yourself is a quite another thing...